All-American BBQ

h_interiortop

This is just semantics, I know, but when I speak of barbeque, I’m speaking a language foreign to most Californians.  Growing up, BBQ was slapping some burgers, dogs (as in frankfurters, not Border Collies, as my Filipino heritage might suggest) or even steaks on a gas grill.  Don’t get me wrong, one can cook up some mighty tasty grub on a gas grill.  But think about it for a moment.  How is a gas grill any different than your oven?  It is just a broiler turned upside down (or right side up, depending on your perspective).  I have yet to hear of anyone raving about that fragrant propane flavor.  It’s the smoke from heavenly hardwood that is the heart beat of All-American BBQ!  The humble ranch hands of yesterday’s legendary cattle drives turning a cheap hunk of meat into something succulent over some desert mesquite.  I remember my first experience with true wood smoked BBQ.  It was as if my eyes were opened to a whole new world of truth (almost like getting saved!).  Silly, I know, but we really are talking about two different worlds here:  1) ribs boiled in a pot of water then slathered with sauce and charred on a gas grill; 2) ribs gently smoked in a wood pit for 6-7 hours.  And what shall I more say?  For the time would fail me to tell of brisket, pork butt, tri-tip… (my BBQ ode to Hebrews 11)

header

Oh, sure, I enjoy a nice, juicy burger and a kosher all-beef dog as much as the next guy (probably more, actually).  But I loves me some BBQ!  Just wanted to get the semantics out of the way so you can understand where I’m coming from.

2 comments so far

  1. Cali Que « BarBeQuethMinistry! on

    […] Super Chargers.  BBQ… not so much (for clarification, please read my thoughts on “All American BBQ“).  As we press on through this blog, I’ll eventually get to more detailed restaurant […]

  2. […] Yosemite National Park. Always in search of legit BBQ in California (read my definition of real BBQ here), Yelp sent us to Doc’s Texas BBQ in Sonora.  Yelp, I love […]


Leave a Reply

