Fave Fives

This will be the beginning of a series of posts on my favorite things.  We’ll start with my five favorite songs of all time (below is “Legacy Five”, the Nepomuceno’s favorite quartet–thanks to Brittany Torres [Reisner] for letting me borrow their tape a few years back and getting me hooked).

l520sings2011

1.  I Stand Redeemed (This has all the elements of the ultimate “power ballad”: a subdued–almost suspenseful– beginning, tight harmonies, meaty words, a neat-o key change and a hugongous ending!  Can you get any better than the second verse: “A broken life is all I have to offer.  And, yet, it is a priceless gift to Him!”  The original Legacy Five gave one of the great Southern Gospel Quartet performances of all time in 2000 with a 19 year-old tenor)

2.  Were It Not For Grace (In my mind, this is just the ultimate “cry-er”.  An incredibly moving testimony song.  Ever so personal, this song must be sung with a heart of gratitude!  Larnelle Harris brought it to life with nothing more than a piano and a few strings to accompany him.)

3.  The Healer (There aren’t that many “Bible story” songs out there, and this one knocks it out of the ball park.  I’m talkin’ grand slam!  A hand-waver, amen-shouter to be sure!  Made popular by the Talley Trio, Debbie Chadwick and Unashamed from the Canyon Ridge Baptist Church in America’s Finest City nail this one!)

4.  I Sing Because (Probably my very favorite song to sing.  When I do, I need to be careful to control myself because that chorus pushes me right to the brink of the charismatic movement!)

5.  It’s Still the Blood (The song that made me famous **plants tongue firmly in cheek**.  The “Corn Cob Boys” from the Liberty Baptist Church of Newport Beach [AKA-The Solid Rock Quartet] do an awesome job with this one.  I heard a recording of a female Bible College tour group singing this.  Folks, this is a man’s song!  Sorry, to be so chauvinistic, but there are manly man songs and then there are girly girl songs… like “Love Crucified a Rose”.)

I’d love to hear about some of your faves!

5 comments so far

  1. Jen on

    I love Bow the Knee. It’s a good reminder when we are going through things that we DON’T live by sight, even though we are so tempted to try and do so at times. The last verse says that during trying times we can be tempted to think that God doesn’t know what we are going through, and yet it is through those times that we grow closer to Him! This song was the “theme” song one of my years at MBBC and wow, there were times that I couldn’t sing it without crying! Hindsight is 20/20 but to be able to trust God during the trials, and not just after, makes it so much sweeter! There are so many songs I like, I won’t list them all! 🙂

  2. jaynepomuceno on

    Yes, great song! Made famous by Bekah, Brittany, Azniv and the rest of the WSBBC ministry team waaaaay back when!

  3. Becka on

    oooh! I didn’t know I was famous! I’ll have to be careful not to get a big head. Wow, Jay, those were some great songs, I’m not sure I can think of any better ones. I really like the song “Satisfied,” and also, “There Rose a Lamb,” and “One Holy Lamb.”

    And I agree with you about “It’s Still the Blood” being a “boyly” song (as a jr. high boy said), and “Love Crucified, Arose” being a girly song. lol I always think of Rachel, what’s her last name, when I hear that song.

  4. rnaenae on

    I really like “Master of the Wind” Also “It’s Still the Blood” of course sung by Jay ummm what was his last name! 🙂

  5. Legacy Five « BarBeQuethMinistry! on

    […] introduced the world to the hit song “I Stand Redeemed”.  I’ll have to update my Fave Five Songs list.  Few songs have actually ministered to my heart the way cut #5 on this CD immediately did.  […]


Leave a Reply

