Fave Fives II

Last week, we looked at my favorite songs.  Okay, now we move on to a very important subject: ice cream!

0620_ice_cream

1.  Handel’s (Located in Upland [off Mountain Ave in the Trader Joe’s shopping center], this is absolutely the creamiest, most decadent treat around!  They have some really interesting flavors/combinations and I originally planned to make my way through all of their varieties.  But then Brenna and I got stuck on “Chocolate Raspberry Truffle” and haven’t been able to part from it.  You can get a four scoop sampler for just $5 and share with some loved ones.  My kids love their sherbet.  This place is awesome!  You’ve got to try it!)

2.  Godiva Belgian Chocolate (Deep.  Dark.  Rich.  Chocolate!  Very high in fat, which is so obvious from the silky mouth feel.  The absolute best stuff in the grocery store.  At our staff dinner last night, I had an incredible dessert made with Godiva chocolate.  Goodness, gracious,–which I said a few times as I ate my slice of Chocolate Raspberry cake–it was unbelievable!)

3.  Maggie Moo’s (Picking your mix in is just fun.  Plus, this is great ice cream!  It just barely edges out my #4 pick because… well, I’m not really sure why.)

4.  Cold Stone (I love the sweet cream ice cream with Oreos mixed in.  This comes in just one notch below Maggie Moo’s because… y’know, I wish I could tell you.  I have no idea!)

5.  Denali Extreme Moose Tracks (Available in most Grocery Stores, you’ve got to do yourself a favor and walk past the Breyer’s, Dreyer’s and five quart ghetto tubs to give this a try.  Not quite as luxuriously creamy as the high fat super premium brands [Godiva, Haagen-Dazs, etc.], but this variety throws down a flavor party in your mouth!  “Extreme Moose Tracks” is chocolate ice cream with fudge filled cups and Moose Tracks fudge.  Are you kidding me??)

5 comments so far

  1. rnaenae on

    I love Extreme Moose Tracks! It is one of the best ice creams ever!

  2. jaynepomuceno on

    Renae, next time you and James are in the area, you’ve got to give Handel’s a try. It’s crazy good!

  3. James on

    You’re not even kidding! Moose Tracks =Love

  4. […] of Everything.  They rate Dr. Bob’s as the second best ice cream in the world, right behind Handel’s.  While quite good, Dr. Bob’s doesn’t break into my “fave five”.  We […]

  5. […] The 10 Best of Everything, and The Fun Foodie agrees (see my top five ice cream picks here).  This is just another way to get your egg nog […]


Leave a Reply

