The View From Candy Land

00228

Psalm 68:19 “Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation. Selah.”

Recently, my five year old son, Jason, challenged me to a game of Candy Land.  One-on-one, mano-a-mano, ultimate fighting-style competition like this always gets me going.  I looked at my kindergartner and thought, “This chump is going down!”  He laid out the board and explained the rules, the most important being that he gets to go first.  No problem, pure domination was on its way, nonetheless.

I pulled ahead early, skillfully weaving my way through the peppermint forest.  Then, exactly as I planned, Jason landed on a licorice square!  He would have to miss a turn.  I drew a double yellow card which took me right to gumdrop pass and catapulted me even farther ahead.  This was like taking candy from a baby!

But then I did something really out of character.  I started cheating.  But that wasn’t the “out of character” part.  I have been known to cheat in Uno and even Bible Drills (my latest offence being at College Days).  I started to cheat… for HIM!  I would purposely not move far enough, or nudge his piece a few squares further, anything to get him to pull ahead.  I really, really wanted him to win.  And he did!  He was so excited and challenged me to another game.  He won again!  And he didn’t even need me to cheat!

There are certain attributes of God that really come to life when one becomes a parent.  God is our creator, judge, protector and FATHER.  As a father, I want so badly to bless my children.  I am obligated to provide their needs, but I really am thrilled to give them some wants along the way.  It is truly a joy to see them happy, excited, and having fun.  Take the greatest bits of goodness mankind can muster up, and know that God is infinitely… gooder!

Our Heavenly Father wants to shower us with blessings.  Let’s be blessable!

If you would like to know the goodness of God personally, please read this.

3 comments so far

  1. Napier on

    Melody wins me every time! I’ve thought about cheating just so I could win, but haven’t done that yet.

  2. Holly on

    Hey there, I was looking for images of CandyLand and stumbled upon your site. I’m a new mommy and this story about letting your child win at CandyLand touched my heart. I too have realized in just a few weeks how God shows us reflections of Himself through our children. May God bless you and your ministry.

    Jesus is Lord!

  3. ilovecandyland on

    i love candy land its a paradise i love ittttttttttt


Leave a Reply

