A Day With My Teens

The first “Day W/ Jay” was waaaay back in 2002 and looked like this:

picture21

“A Day w/ Jay” Part II wasn’t until 2006 and looked like this:

picture12

“A Day w/ Jay” Version 3.0 was Dec. 29th, 2008 and will more than likely become a yearly tradition.  Ministering less than a two hour drive from where I grew up, I have just really wanted to show off America’s Finest City to my young people.  “A Day w/ Jay” is a full day of my favorite things to do in San Diego.  In previous years, we used it as a prelude to attending an evening Youth Rally held down there.  This time there was no rally, so it was all about “family time”.

Our first stop was for lunch at “Pat and Oscar’s“, a San Diego institution.  Known mostly for their incredible breadsticks, they also have very good pizza, nice salads and tasty ribs (not BBQ, but tender and enjoyable for being oven baked).  Plus, you can go to McDonald’s, In-N-Out or Pizza Hut anywhere.  When in Rome… (S.J., feel free to finish the sentence!)

Next stop was the sea cliffs of Pt. Loma, a place I visited regularly as a kid and now take my own kids at least once a year.  Usually the tide pools are the big attraction, but we happened to be there at high tide.  This is still a great place to explore, take pictures, skip rocks and attempt to move boulders (ask Robby about that).  Did I mention it’s a great place to take pictures?  We collectively took 326,707 pics there (give or take), with the majority being jumping pictures.

The "Day w/ Jay 3.0" Crew!  This is our famous "everyone look different directions" pose, but most of the retards looked the same way the BBQthDirector looked!

The "Day w/ Jay 3.0" Crew! This is our famous "everyone look different directions" pose.

Robby really wanted to throw this "boulder" into the ocean.  So, of course, he asks the skinniest guy there to help him (sorry, Marquis).  Needless to say, they hardly moved it.

Robby really wanted to throw this "boulder" into the ocean. So, of course, he asks the skinniest guy there to help him (sorry, Marquis). Needless to say, they hardly moved it.

The Chloe working her awesome camera.  I saw her out there just enjoying the scenery and new a picture of her taking a picture would be cool.  I was right.

"The Chloe" working her awesome camera. I saw her out there just enjoying the scenery and just knew a picture of her taking a picture would be cool. I was right.

One of our first "everyone jump" pictures.  And, yes, Raphael's peek-a-boo mid-section has been air brushed to keep the nightmares away!

One of our first "everyone jump" pictures. And, yes, Raphael's peek-a-boo mid-section has been air brushed to keep the nightmares away!

From there, we went up the hill to Cabrillo National Monument and enjoyed the view from the original Point Loma Lighthouse.  I also took them on a not-very-well-known jaunt to a WWII look out bunker.  We only took 23,161 pictures there and decided it wasn’t the safest spot to do a jumping one.

Marquis peering out at the mighty Pacific ocean, "Okay, where are those Japanese." Elizabeth pipes in, "Helloooo, we have a whole bunch of Japanese Exchange Students at our church!"

At the WWII Bunker: Marquis peering out at the mighty Pacific ocean, "Okay, where are those Japanese?" Elizabeth pipes in, "Helloooo, we have a whole bunch of Japanese Exchange Students at our church!"

Next stop was Ultra Zone, a multi-level laser tag arena which should also boast of their black lit restrooms.  Ever used a black lit restroom?  You should give it a try sometime, it is quite exciting.  Anyway, I was able to lead my team to victory twice (I proclaimed myself “General Jay”).  It’s always fun pretending to be a Navy SEAL.

Then it was off to beautiful Coronado Island!  First stop was Albertson’s for drinks and potty time in normal light (potty under black light is more exciting).  We drove over to the Pacific side of the island and easily found a fire pit where Raphael got to let his pyromaniac urges out.  It was just after sunset and the beach was beautiful–cool and crisp with a slight breeze.  There was one other bonfire going and a few beach strollers here and there.  It really felt like we had the beach all to ourselves (with the exception of a few military aircraft flying overhead).  We hung out, roasted marshmallows and left over pizza (can you get any better than wood-fired pizza?), took about 197,452 pictures (including just over 20,000 jumping ones), munched on chips, sang a whole bunch and gave testimonies.  I gave a message that I really sensed the Lord was working through.  I only wish more of my teens were there to hear it.  There have been very few times in my ministry when I really, really missed key teens who didn’t come to an activity… that was going well.  This was one of those times.  Not that the kids that were there weren’t a blessing, because they were!  This was just truly a very special time and I thought often, “Man, I really wish so-and-so was here.”  That’s how it goes sometimes, especially during the holidays.

Raphael really up'd the man factor with his fire pit skills.  Tim claimed to be the expert, but we wouldn't let him with 50 yards of the fire!

Raphael really up'd the man factor with his fire pit skills. Tim claimed to be the expert, but we wouldn't let him within 30 yards of the fire!

And, yet another jumping pic!  This time no air brushing was necessary, but nightmares may still be possible if you focus on Raphael for too long.

And yet another jumping pic! This time no air brushing was necessary, but nightmares may still be possible if you focus on Raphael for too long.

 At about 7:30 pm, we headed over to the “Three-In-One”, a fast food joint featuring KFC, Taco Bell and Pizza Hut when the BBQthDirector worked there as a teen.  It has since lost Pizza Hut, but gained a stressed out manager who scolded a couple of my teens for spinning in their “spinny” chairs.  I was sure to laugh and point at them when they got busted.  Our final destination was just across the street.  As we were now on the harbor side of the island, I just had to show them the incredible view of the downtown San Diego skyline.  A few camera batteries had died so I think we only took about a thousand pictures.  The jumping pictures got old so we tried to take a running one.  It was fun doing it, but it was way too dark to get a good pic.

One of the more precious memories of the night was our impromptu Cold Stone Pot-Luck!  No plans were made for this so many of the teens were broke.  A few were able to get a “Like It!”, but some could only afford a “Pretty Fond of It!”, but they didn’t offer that size at this swanky location.  Our dear Chloe had a moment of brilliance.  She got the less fortunate kids to pitch in what they could and headed for the shop.  She came back with two quarts (or maybe they were pints?), and a bunch of little cups and spoons.  It was so awesome!  We gathered by this nice illuminated fountain and had a little Cold Stone party.  It’s little things like this that show just what a family my youth group is like.  Maybe it’s lost on you, but the BBQthDirector thinks all this cheesy happiness is cool.  I’m just crazy about these kids!  *Wipes a little tear from eye… please don’t tell anyone!*

This picture is an instant fave and the moment is an instant classic!

This picture is an instant fave and the moment is an instant classic!

There are times when you know an activity was a success.  I have just enough of an ego to be impressed with the ounce of creativity I put into it.  But this one was too easy.  Sure, I had America’s Finest City as our “play ground” but that wasn’t the main ingredient.  I could’ve taken these kids to Santa Ana and played “Duck, Duck, Goose” at a public park and they would’ve found a way to make it awesome.

Shouldn’t this post be entitled “A Day w/ Jay” since that was the name of the activity?  Yeah, I guess that would make more sense on the surface.  But it turned out to be a day that was such a blessing to me personally.  I love to sing and laugh, and we did both repeatedly (well, in between taking pictures).  I’ve already put it on the calendar for next year.

Man, I really hope so-and-so will be there!

12 comments so far

  1. S.J. on

    “When in Rome… do as the Catholics!!!” *sigh* good times.
    Jay thanks sooo much! It was really fun! I always like having sing-alongs to and from an activity and I was not disappointed. Some of my fondest memories come from activities like this w/ a smaller group from the multitude of teens. It was really fun. So many modeling, scenery, jumping, and “let’s move this rock” pictures. The veiws were amazing and the group was fun. Anyways, thanks for a day like this, it was much needed! And AWESOME!

    p.s. I didn’t get the “golf score” in lazer tag this time… I was bad, but not the worst! yay!

  2. Chloe' on

    Yeah, thanx a lot Jay for taking us! I really enjoyed the trip! Thanx again!

  3. Ryan on

    Thanks for having this activity, Jay! It was a great way to get closer to you and to the youth group. So many pictures, memories, and fun! Out of everything we did, I’d say that the bonfire was hightlight of the trip. I would love to see “A Day W/ Jay” become an annual event!

  4. rnaenae on

    I loved the pics and stories! Keep up the great work Jay! The teens love you!

  5. jaynepomuceno on

    Thanks for the kind sentiments, folks! And, Ryan, you happened to be one of the unfortunate people scolded by the uptight manager. You were barely spinning. S.J. and Ashleigh truly deserved to get busted!

  6. Ariel on

    Hey Jay! Sorry I couldn’t go. It sure sounds like a whole lot of fun than cleaning all day. :/ Is there any chance you could schedule another one? lol!..

  7. Ashleigh on

    Hey Jay! thnx so much for having the day with jay thingy! it was so much fun! i dnt think it was fair for me and sj to get busted because spinny chairs are there for a reason! and that is to be spinned… oh well, it was fun while it lasted… thanx again for all the fun!

  8. jaynepomuceno on

    Yes, Ash, you’re right about the spinny chairs, but can anyone blame me for enjoying watching you guys get busted?

  9. Renae on

    Wow, it looks like you guys had a really great time! I remember when you took us the several years ago. It was a lot of fun then, but now I really wish I was still in youth group.*sob* Anyways, keep up the good work!

  10. Chloe' on

    Jay…you totally owe me a trip to Coronado Island and Cold Stones!!!! Next time we’re in San Diego for a youth rally i’m not gonna tell you that we should go to Coronado…

    P.s.-You owe me!!!! jk..but really, you do

  11. jaynepomuceno on

    Chloe, it was awful! I think the ice cream had expired and was rotten. A crazy fog rolled in so when we went out to the pier to eat our rotten ice cream, there was no view of downtown. Then the ferry… crashed! Yeah, uh… right into the pier so we lost our rotten ice cream as we had to swim to shore! And… uh… as we were crossing the bridge I fell asleep at the wheel and drove right off into the harbor below. It was horrible! Be thankful you didn’t go!

  12. […] there’s “The Day With Jay” (check out last year’s event here).  It’s my opportunity to share my favorite places, in my favorite city, with some of my […]


Leave a Reply

