Fave Fives V: Cartoons

recess_gang_1024_toon

Okay, folks, we’ve got to lighten it up a bit.  I’ve enjoyed the mega hits and pingbacks since “Defending Dubya” (well over 1,000 visits in three days!), but I’d like to talk about a subject that has helped form so many of our lives: CARTOONS!  Here are my all-time favorites…

**These would be the classic TV versions (mostly from my kid days in the 80’s), none of the movies!**

1.  Recess (Genius!  This legendary cartoon covered every aspect of growing up in public school: the preppy rich girls, the athletes, the brainiacs, the swingers, and–my favorite–the wild animals in kindergarten!  I always imagined myself to be T.J., the mastermind of both goody-goody niceness and fairly innocent mischief.)

2.  G.I. Joe (C’mon, any guy who didn’t love the ultimate in animated military might was probably into “My Little Pony”!  Or worse … “The Care Bears”.)

3.  Inspector Gadget (“Go, go Gadget … {fill in the blank}!”  Not only did you get a mystery solved in less than half an hour, but you got to bob your head to that awesome theme song: duh, nuh, nuh, nuh, NUH, Inpector Gadget, duh, nuh, nuh, nuh, NUH, nuh, nuuuuuuuuuh!)

4.  Charlie Brown Holiday Specials (I just had to watch all of them.  Even as a teen-ager, “The Great Pumpkin” was a non-negotiable tradition.  Plus, for a kid, hearing all the adults talk in only an inaudible mumble was quite wonderful.)

5.  Tom and Jerry (Never caught it as a kid, but this cartoon was chalk full of political incorrectness.  They pulled out pretty much every racial and gender stereo type possible.  *Siiiigh* Those were the good ol’ days!)

Honorable mentions: Duck Tales, He-Man, Transformers, Richie Rich, and Voltron (any other “old” folks remember that one?).  Come on, folks, don’t be ashamed, share some of your faves!

22 comments so far

  1. S.J. on

    YAY RECESS!!! lol I could totally see you as the “T.J.” type… but sometimes you seem like the “Randal” type (is that even his name? dont remember) you know, the tattle-tail. Jay, you know its true! hahaha. “O-o-o scan-del-ous!” love that show! Tom and Jerry too! Goes to show that even though that mouse was SMALLER he was far better than those bigger than him! 😀

  2. Becka on

    I loved Inspector Gadget and Duck Tales was my absolute fav. I have to confess that I watched My Little Pony, Care Bears, and Rainbow Bright. lol I like Transformers too, but wasn’t quite as into it as a kid. Tom and Jerry is an all time favorite and I always watched it when I went to my grandma’s house. Tom and Jerry is still a fav among kids – at least those in my neck of the woods.

  3. ocnative on

    Voltron? Wow, you’re really dating yourself now! 🙂 Weren’t they wannabe transformers? LOL! Anyway, thanks for the Johnny Rebs tip. We went to the restaurant in Orange and it was great. The hubby loved the ribs. My chicken was a bit dry, but we had a great time. And since you mentioned He-man, what about SHE-RA!

  4. Renae on

    I liked Inspector Gadget also! Tom and Jerry just like my sis! Thanks for sharing your favs with us!

  5. janet2000 on

    MUPPET BABIES!

  6. lonestarpreacher on

    alright i’m breaking my silence for this one! my all time favorite cartoon is the jetsons with a close second being alvin and the chipmunks! who’s with me?

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    S.J.: Randall, the weasel? Me? I’m telling!

    Becka: I’ve lost pretty much all respect for you knowing that you watched… Rainbow Bright! Wow…

    lonestar: Thanks for sounding off! Alvin and the Chipmunks might have the second best theme song after Inspector Gadget. Wait, maybe third after Duck Tales (woo-ooo!). Okay, maybe fourth after the Animaniacs.

  8. Becka on

    lol Well, I was only 5 years old, does that help? (please, let it help). lol I liked the Jetsons as well.

  9. Steve on

    I must admit, I was rather enjoying the bit of tension stirred up by Defending Dubya (right on, by the way). Nonetheless, I have to put in my 2 cents. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was the best!

  10. robby p. on

    my fave list is as follows… 5.Recess
    4.spongebob 3. mighty mouse. 2. tale spin… and #1. (of course) TOM AND JERRY.. got to love seeing the jerry outsmart that stupid cat.. but not bad Jay

  11. James on

    tale spin
    rescue ranger
    doug
    animaniacs
    goof troop

    i had a friend of mine over at http://unsoundtransient.com tell me that one of his favorites was gummi bears and that brought back memories. i like the recess pick and tom and jerry as well. nothing like these on any more.

  12. dar... on

    RECESS?? ewww Jay i hate that cartoon. I thought it was sooo boring! lol hahaha but i liked TOM and JERRY!

  13. jaynepomuceno on

    You hate Recess? I’m tellin’ you, this blog can have the tendency to attract some really weird people. I’m talkin’ coo-coo!

  14. dar... on

    what? hahaha ohh puleez!

  15. Mr. Robinson on

    c’mon how could Looney Toons not make your top 5 but I loved watching recess that show was awesome so was that show duck tales woot woot!

  16. Ryan O. on

    I’d have to agree with ‘Mr. Robinson’! Where is Looney Toons!?

  17. jaynepomuceno on

    Okay, Mr. Ong and Mr. Robinson, which one of my Fave Fives would you give the boot to accomodate Looney Toons. Yeah, it was pretty good, maybe top 10. Only a select few (like, uh, five) can be…

    Fave Five!

  18. Ryan O. on

    Recess. I don’t see why people like that cartoon so much!

  19. jaynepomuceno on

    You would bump Recess for Looney Toons?? Ryan, you need to re-evaluate your priorities! This might cost you a thousand points in Basic Training.

  20. Ryan O. on

    Er . . . on second thought, maybe you’re right, Jay! Recess is the best cartoon ever!! *lies*

  21. jaynepomuceno on

    Yeah, that’s more like it. *evil snicker*

  22. princecharlesofperadale on

    Seriously, Recess was the best. btw, Jay, I found some of the episodes on youtube. LOL good times… That and James mentioned Doug, doesn’t anyone else remember Disney’s Doug? That and Chip and Dale: Rescue Rangers!


Leave a Reply

