The Ankle Sprain of Doom

19577

It was bad.  Real Bad.

I’ve added “teaching” P.E. to my repertoire of talents and figured I would try to regain the athleticism of yester-year (basically pre-back surgeries).  There was a time I would take part in the pick up basketball games after Sunday evening church during the summer.  Old skewlers might remember my Loy Vaught 15-foot jumper that was just money in the bank (well, banks back then).  I’m no Michael Jordan.  I’m more of a poor man’s Lebron James.  Very poor man.  Okay, okay, I’m a lot closer to Smush Parker, but that’s beside the point. 

Basketball in P.E. was my chance to get back into shape and relive some of my youthful glory.  It took some time to get my touch back.  My ball handling skills are embarrassing, my post game can use some refining (except for when I’m backing down a 4’11” seventh grader–I can school them all day!), but my jump shot … ever heard of Reggie Miller?  Just wondering.  Anyway, when I first got going, it was nothing but net.  It wasn’t going through the hoop, just grazing the net.  Then I progressed to hitting the backboard.  But I’ve improved.  I’m probably hitting 15% of my shots now!  Hey, that would get me into the WNBA.  Only, I’m too pretty.

In the midst of my basketball comeback, tragedy struck!  Wednesday, February 18th, I suffered the Ankle Sprain of Doom.  I was fighting for position down low when an errant shot clanked off the rim.  I went up for the rebound only to come down on a Jr. High maggot’s foot.  But this was no ordinary Jr. Higher.  Tyler is Sasquatch Maggot.  He has size 13 “feet”!  I put the word feet in quotes, because they are more like tug boats.  Well, I didn’t land square, slid off and rolled my ankle.  I let out a blood-curdling scream.  It was so loud, pitiful and ridiculous, the guys thought I was joking around.  They continued playing basketball around me as I writhed on the ground in agony.  Finally, someone figured out I wasn’t joking and they helped me get to a bench to sulk in disbelief.

“This is so stupid!”  I said over and over again.  “Stupid, stupid, dumb, retarded, stupid…”

I was a picture of peace and serenity as my ankle swelled to the size of Barry Bonds’ head.  I knew it was bad.  Even wondered if it was broken.  By day’s end, the swelling had reached around to the inside of my foot, and down to my toes.  The next few days brought bruising that could most accurately be described as gross.  The other day I showed off my badly injured foot to some of my teens.  An encouraging chorus rang sweetly in my ears:

“Ewww … that’s gross … aw, sick … is that gangrene?”

Most of my foot–down to my toes and even a good 3-4 inches up my leg–was a deep, dark purple.  If you squint your eyes and tilt your head, you would think you were looking at Barney.  Well, more than a week later, it is still a bit swollen and quite bruised.  I’m still hobbling around on crutches.  I could put a little bit of weight on it, but I don’t think Barney is ready for the full force of two hundred pounds of sheer muscle.  But it’s getting there.

It’ll be no time before I’m back on the court breaking ankles.  Hopefully, not mine!

14 comments so far

  1. robster on

    Jay… UR such a baller!!! 🙂

  2. Becka on

    Jay, you need to take action and get Ankle Insurance.

    http://www.nike.com/nikeos/p/nikebasketball/en_US/notmybrokenankles

    Make sure you watch the video!

  3. Renae on

    I hope it gets better soon! 🙂

  4. James on

    Jay, I broke my ankle the same way landing on someones ankle in highschool. I say and I’ve had doctors agree with me that a sprained ankle hurts worse thana broken one. They put an cast on me one time when I played for Liberty but we were supposed to play Lighthouse in basketball, I played with the cast on anyway and just didnt tell anyone until after because I wanted to play so bad. Pretty sure I said “stupid stupid retarted game” many times that game too lol.

  5. James A. on

    That link was pretty random becka. sorry about the ankles Jay.

  6. Philip on

    lol! loy vaught. classic. that baseline jumper was deadly.

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    Thank you all for the kind sentiments. For you youngins, Loy Vaught was a jump shooting power forward for my beloved Clippers in the 90’s.

  8. Becka on

    The link wasn’t THAT random – it had to do with broken ankles. lol 🙂

  9. jaynepomuceno on

    Funny link, Becka, and very fitting now that the doctor says it’s BROKEN! Looks like I’ve got a couple minor fractures. Doesn’t sound quite as exciting as the Ankle Sprain of Doom, but what can you do…

  10. Becka on

    How about “Ankle Fracture of Doom.” Sorry, that your ankle is broken! What a bumminator!

  11. rufeo on

    the same kind of thing happened to me… only I was ice skating and not playing basketball and it was no fun. 😦

  12. Renae on

    Bummer about it being broken! No wonder you couldn’t walk on it! I hope it heals quickly and fully! I will be praying for you!

  13. jaynepomuceno on

    I guess fracturing anything is a bummination. Ice Skating and me is a dangerous combo. I would probably break my face.

  14. Kevin aka Tony A. on

    JAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOOOOOOOO!! HAHA!


Leave a Reply

