Fave Fives IX: Chips

1435044275_536b64c659

It’s just a crazy coinky-dink that this list came real close to being alliterated.  But it’s no coinky-dink that it comes right on the heels of my Saltine post that mentions my #1 choice for chips.  Chips in all their greasy glory are a convenient and tasty snack.  My fave fives…

1.  Cheddar and Sour Cream Ruffles/Pringles (Best chip flavor ever!)

2.  Fiery Habenero Doritos (I haven’t been able to find these since Alaska!  These truly burn your face off, but they are strangely addicting.  Just couldn’t get enough of these!)

3.  French Onion Sun Chips (These are kinda healthy, right?  Who am I kidding, you don’t reach for a bag of chips to lengthen your life.  You grab them to die happy!)

4.  Fritos (A simple mutant of tortilla chips, but wonderfully addicting.)

5.  Funions (Love the crunch, love the flavor!)

S.J./Ariel, remember those chips we ate on the flight from Unalakleet to Anchorage?  We had so much fun with our taste tests!  What was the brand?  Those definitely deserve an honorable mention.  Oh, and Salt & Vinegar chips come close, too.  Hated that flavor as a kid, but my tastes have somehow become more sophisticated in my old age.

15 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    I love Chedder and Sour Cream (they are the best)! I also really like Salt and Vinegar, but James can’t stand the smell so I don’t get them very often! I enjoy Chili Cheese Fritos!

  2. James A. on

    1. Ruffles (Plain)
    2. Fritos (Plain)
    3. Lays (Plain)
    4. Tortilla Chips (Plain)
    5. Pringles (Plain)

    When it come to chips I hate the fake flavoring that makes your breathe stink (i.e. Doritos, Salt and Vinegar, etc.) If for some reason I have to have a flavored chip it would have to be barbecue, but that is like the only flavored chips I will eat.

  3. jaynepomuceno on

    Plain, plain, plain… James, do you like plain Saltines like your bro does? I gotta have the plain chips with some dip. Oh, and IKEA sells some bomb chips. I think they’re called “Lant Chips”, love those!

  4. James A. on

    No I’m not the fan of saltine crackers like my brother. In that case give me some cheese or salami maybe some cream cheese and salsa. But when it come to chips the flavoring on the chip is disgusting. If I’m having tortilla chips i’ll take some spicy salsa but don’t ruin my potato chips by adding artificial flavors.

  5. Renae on

    I love the chips from IKEA! They are Scandinavian! They are the best! And yes James doesn’t eat any flavored chips! We buy 2 kinds because I am not a huge fan of plain! I like dip or something also!

  6. Daniel Ashton on

    1. Cheddar and Sour Cream Ruffles
    2. Fritos
    3. Fresh Tortilla chips (I have to put fresh in here, because I am pretty sure that I have not had any since I came to college)
    4. Bugles
    5. Pringles (just about any flavor)

  7. Lesley Dewar on

    It took forever for Pringles to get to Australia – I found you on Alpha Inventions.

    Right now – we are campaigning against whaling
    http://notallpoppies.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/greenpeace-its-more-aussie-than-you-think/

    Please come read our story and do the whaling poll, too.

  8. jaynepomuceno on

    Daniel, you are a good man! Your #1 choice has made up for liking plain saltines! And FRESH is key to tortilla chips. People who’ve only had Mission or Santitas haven’t really had tortilla chips. Gotta head down to the Bodego or Tortilleria or a good Mexican restaurant for the real deal! Hot out of the fryer!

  9. S.J. on

    Jay, I DO remember those chips! Those were REALLY good… yum… that’s really the only reason I want to go back to Alaska. jk! Please don’t kick me outta Basic Training because of that comment!!! Anyways… my favorite is… *drumroll please* PRINGLES! I’ve only found a few flavors of Pringles that I don’t like, and they are REPULSIVE! I mean, c’mon, PICKLE flavored?! blech!!!

  10. jaynepomuceno on

    Lesly, thank you for stopping by. Alpha Inventions has been really good to me.

    S.J., but was the brand? Maybe Ariel will remember. I’ve seen Pickle Pringles. Haven’t tried ’em, but just might out of morbid curiosity.

  11. Becka on

    Okay, so my husband is addicted to plain potato chips. The only other flavor he will eat is Barbeque. If I were to put a list, it would be really close to Daniel’s. My husband eats his potato chips with salsa (I never did that before I met him, but it actually is pretty good). I LOVE tortilla chips with salsa. 🙂 Great fave five, Jay! 🙂

  12. jaynepomuceno on

    Okay, as long as Matt will go for BBQ, he’s still okay in my book.

  13. Robb on

    1.Saltines
    2.Saltines
    3.Saltines
    4.Saltines
    5.Saltines
    that is my fave 5 jay… pretty good.. huh?.. haha.. i love Saltines plain as jane!!! but i will continue to pray 4 u

  14. Ariel on

    I love cheddar and sour cream ruffles. Too bad it’s a gay product now. Oh yeah….those chips were good. Remember when me and S.J. put all our empty bags on your tray when you were sleeping? Lol! That was funny. We took a pic of it too.

  15. jaynepomuceno on

    Robby, so blatant with your sin! Can’t even blush. Sad.

    Ariel, I guess you don’t remember the brand, either. We’ll just have to go back to Alaska! Wait, you’re graduating, abandoning the youth director you owe your life to. I’ll go back and let you know.


Leave a Reply

