Fellowship With Christ

erebus-cross

“That I may know Him, and the power of His ressurection …” -Philippians 3:10

I just recently sat in amazement under the preaching of Pastor Jim Schettler.  He took me on a journey through the “Cities of Refuge” in Joshua 20.  It was the city that offered fellowship with my Saviour that drew me in.  We get to know people as we fellowship with them, and that simple principle holds true with Christ.  Oh, how I want to know Him!  The thrilling ressurection power of my Saviour is mine to know.  As a child, dead in my sins, He “quickened” me, raised me to walk in newness of life!  I have had the privilege to see sinners pulled out of that horrible pit and set upon a rock!  I have heard that “new song” come bursting from their lips and lives!  I have seen the darkness turn to light!  I know the “power of His ressurection”!

But Philippians 3:10 continues in a way that is not quite as exciting.  We would all invite God’s power into our lives.  We commemorate and celebrate the ressurection every Sunday.  If that were the extent of knowing Christ, so many more Christians would walk with Him.  But there’s more.

“That I may know Him, and the power of His ressurection, and the fellowship of His sufferings …”

To know suffering, is to know Christ.  Our high priest was touched with the feeling of our infirmities when He walked the earth.  He was misunderstood by His earthly parents, He was hungry, thirsty, tempted by the devil, falsely accused, heart broken, betrayed, mocked, forsaken, and He endured unspeakable physical suffering. 

Yes, as I attend church, I’m getting to know my Saviour.  The time I devote to reading His Word daily is a time of fellowship.  That is my part, the very least I can do.  But, hallelujah, this desire for fellowship is not one-sided!  He initiates fellowship as well.  It is in the difficult, heavy times in my life that He is drawing me to Himself.

Wonder of wonders that Christ would desire fellowship with me!

The chorus of one my favorite songs puts it this way:  “Make me blind that I might see.  Make me lame that I might praise You from my knees.  Make me hunger, make me thirst until Your Word is all I need.  When I’m weak, I’m stonger for it.”

picture1

9 comments so far

  1. jenmarie on

    That message was really good! I’m glad I was able to go.

  2. Jane on

    Hey Jay, what song is that?

  3. janet2000 on

    I really needed this. Thank you! 🙂

  4. jaynepomuceno on

    The song is “Stronger For It” by the southern gospel mixed trio LordSong.

  5. lonestarpreacher on

    is this jim shettler from pensacola? is he pastoring an actual church now?

  6. kent on

    lonestarpreacher, what do you mean ‘an actual church?’

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    Lonestar, yes, he’s Pastoring in Santa Maria which is about 200 miles north of Los Angeles.

  8. S.J. on

    Man, I’m so glad that I got to go to the WHOLE preachers meeting! What a blessing!!! I’m really excited for the youth rally this weekend! So much preaching that I get to listen to… yay!!!!

  9. jaynepomuceno on

    And, S.J., you need it!


Leave a comment