Fuddruckers Breaks In!

3-16-017

Into my Fave Fives of Burger Joints, that is!  Driving back from the A.C.E. Regional Student Convention in Riverside gave me the opportunity to do some burger research.  Youth group alum, James Burrow, commented that Fuddruckers is tops in his book, and since I haven’t been to one in over a decade, figured I should see for myself.  Goodness, gracious, is this place good!  I had three of my preacher boys with me (including yet another alum), and we lucked out with a Tuesday deal for 1/3 pound burger combos for just $7.00!  Suh-weet!  For whatever reason, Kevin got confused and went for the 2/3 pounder plus chili fries.  He didn’t finish it.  The sight of a burger about as big as your face really intrigued me.  I now feel the need to attempt to finish one of those (plus the fries) all by myself.  More research must be done!

Love the buttery toasted bun.  Love the freshly cooked, juicy patty.  Love that you can have it cooked to your preferred done-ness (which is medium-well for me).  Love that you can pile on all the fresh veg toppings you want.  Love the huge assortment of sauces/condiments (Sarahjane, you really should rethink your position on condiments).  Especially love the honey mustard, which I have to say is about the best I’ve had.  It’s not just sweet.  It really does have the taste of honey to it.  Excellent.

So, In-N-Out is still #1, followed by Fat Burger, but Fuddruckers breaks into the list at #3.  That gives McDonald’s the boot!  That should make a few of my readers happy.

Compare Robby's puny (and plain) 1/3 pounder on the right with Kevin's hugongous 2/3 pounder on the left.  I can't believe I actually know someone who's taken care of a full pounder with fries!

Compare Robby's puny (and plain) 1/3 pounder on the left with Kevin's hugongous 2/3 pounder on the right. I can't believe I actually know someone who's taken care of a full pounder with fries!

The BBQthDirector's burger lovingly adorned with shredded lettuce, pico de gallo, onions, tomato, jalapenos, mayo, and ketchup.  The "fudd fries" got nice and friendly with some jalapeno cheese sauce and I already told you about the honey mustard.

The BBQthDirector's burger lovingly adorned with shredded lettuce, pico de gallo, onions, tomato, jalapenos, mayo, and ketchup. The "fudd fries" got nice and friendly with some jalapeno cheese sauce and I already told you about the honey mustard.

And here's the awesome condiment station!  Wow, they've included pretty anything you'd ever want to put on a burger.  I was a bit annoyed to see the cheese on the left.  Next time, I won't waste $0.75 on a slice of cheese.  I'll just go ahead and squirt on some of that jalapeno cheese action on my 2/3 pounder!

And here's the awesome condiment station! Wow, they've included pretty much anything you'd ever want to put on a burger. I was a bit annoyed to see the cheese on the bottom left. Next time, I won't waste $0.75 on a slice of cheese. I'll just go ahead and squirt on some of that jalapeno cheese action on my 2/3 pounder!

James, thanks for inspiring me.  You’ve made me a better person.

13 comments so far

  1. James B on

    Jay, Im impressed how fast you follow up with your homework assignments lol. Over-achiever. I knew this one would make it into your fav-5 once you saw it and actually tried it. I must say you actually put EXACTLY what I hook my meal up with down to the honey-mustard which is my favorite honey-mustard ever too. I’m not even that much of a fan of jalapenos but with this it all just works beautifully. BTW finishing off a pounder isn’t that hard if you fill sample cups of a lot of those condiments. You get to try everything out to see what all works for you that way. What Sonic does for drink combinations, Fudds does for burger combinations.

  2. James A. on

    It’s an awesome place. I’ve been there 2 or 3 times. I tried the one pounder once, and shared it with others that had just ordered fries. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Let me know the next time you are going to do research…

  3. Becka on

    Yum… It’s been a long time since I’ve been to one (as stated in a previous comment), but it’s one of those experiences that kinda sticks in your mind.

  4. Renae on

    I haven’t been there since my Senior year in highschool! Wow! I am looking forward to going again someday! 🙂

  5. jenmarie on

    Yummy, I love their fries. 🙂 But then, I always love fries.
    Bucket list, Renae. 🙂

  6. jaynepomuceno on

    James B, if only I was as diligent with my homework as a teen as I am now as a foodie…

    It’s cracking me up now how Robb and Kev look like Mennonites (no offence to any Mennonite readers I might have). They were wearing ties most of the day.

  7. RP3 on

    man.. i totally wish i was man enough like kevin.. actually that was funny. he was like.. WOW!!! wat is that!! i thought i ordered a small puney 1 like u guys.. but no! he went 4 the big 1… i most def. give u props tony(kevin)!!! (if only i was man enough 😦 but i did put away the 4×4 at in-N-out plus a double double.. so maybe 1 day…

  8. Robb on

    haha lol!!! we totally do… that lady at the front prolly was like.. woah!! we have Mennonites here.. ha.. thats awesome.. we totally pull the look off 2!

  9. Kevin C on

    haha lol!! i wish i cud finish mine haha!

  10. Robb on

    dude!!! there is no need.. just the fact that u went 4 it.. u r totally Tony A. (then again am pretty awesome 2!) 😛

  11. L.A. Food Bloggin on

    Pretty good stuff, but I’d much rather save a couple bucks and go to In-N-Out. And, yes, the honey mustard is to-die-for!

  12. Janice on

    Very nice blog! Found you through AI! I thought you’d like to know that there is an incredible place on the Westside called Apple Pan. You’ve got to check it out. They’ve been around fovever and many bloggers say they’re the best in L.A. (wonderful pie, too)! Plus, they have a Hickory Burger, served with their home made barbecue sauce (I think the burger is actually smoked).

  13. jaynepomuceno on

    Janice, thanks for visiting and thanks for the tip! Apple Pan, I’m sooooo there! West L.A. is not too far to drive for such important research.

    I went to Fuddruckers again yesterday.


Leave a Reply

