Fave Fives XIV: Greater L.A. Attractions

The BBQ Kids enjoying the Train Museum at Griffith Park.

The BBQ Kids enjoying the Travel Town Museum at Griffith Park.

I originally intended to list my favorite SoCal attractions, but it ended up being mostly San Diego hot spots (Point Loma, Sea World, etc.).  So I figured I should highlight where I live, which happens to be a very hip place as well.  Here are my favorite things to do/places to see in the Greater Los Angeles Area….

1.  L.A. Farmer’s Market:  The place to travel the world … culinarily speaking!  This deserves it’s own review, so that will come in the near future.

2.  Any empty beach:  I love the ocean!  I especially love to eat the critters that call it home, but that’s beside the point.  The BBQ Family loves to hang out at any empty beach, during any season (yes, that includes winter).  Exploring tide pools and sea caves is always great fun. 

3.  Lake Arrowhead Village:  I recently posted a review here.  Plenty to make both kids and adults smile.  Plus, the “rim-of-the-world” drive is absolutely stunning on a clear day!

4.  Griffith Park: Billed as one of the largest urban parks in North America, the BBQ Family has enjoyed many of the different attractions you’ll find here (the L.A. Zoo, hiking trails, Travel Town Museum, the Observatory, and the Edison light show during Christmas).  You’ve got to catch a planeterium show at the Observatory!  So very cool!  The BBQ Couple went on a few dates here in Bible College (fundamental Baptist-style double dates with Jesse Johnson and Candy Bakan).  Really nice views, day or night.

5.  Victoria Gardens:  A shopping center in Rancho Cucamonga with an “old town-village” feel.  Mostly upscale-ish shopping, but there are a few bargains to be had, if you look.  Three of my favorite restaurants are there: P.F. Chang’s, Cheesecake Factory, and Lucille’s.  Very festive–and very busy–during the holidays.

The BBQ Princess taking in the view of the L.A. Basin from the Griffith Observatory.

The BBQ Princess taking in the view of the L.A. Basin from the Griffith Observatory.

5 comments so far

  1. Becka on

    Wow, sounds fun. I’ve never actually been to some of these places. They’ll have to be on my list sometime when I visit. 🙂

  2. Renae on

    I use to go to Victoria Gardens twice a week, and that can get old, but i still like it. I live close to the beach and it is a wonderful place to hang out!

  3. ocnative on

    What about Disneyland? Isn’t the happiest place on earth the ultimate so-cal experience? Santa Monica Pier is one of my favorites. Pretty much the first place we bring out of town guests.

  4. jaynepomuceno on

    Not a fan of Disneyland (other than Michael Jackson in “Captain E-O”–I’m soooo kidding!). I used to really like Six Flags, but I guess I’ve gotten too old to appreciate the terror filled rides (I hate heights). I think Santa Monica is pretty cool. Lotta weirdos there, but there’s a cool ambience to the pier.

  5. janet2000 on

    The Discovery Science Center is a cool place! Definitely love Disneyland and Knott’s and, of course, there’s the beach! Our favorite is Newport Beach. Fun place to swim and stroll and eat.


Leave a Reply

