Fave Fives XV: Fruits

2006-04-27_strawberries

You might think that the BBQthDirector has exotic tastes with all things food.  When it comes to fruit, I have pretty “normal” preferences.  I don’t eat them as much as I should, but when they’re in season (and from a Farmers Market or stand), there’s not much better than these:

1. Strawberries:  Okay, so chocolate covered is the ultimate way to eat this summer berry, but the possibilities are almost endless for the BBQthDirector.  Smoothies, shakes, waffles, ice cream, PB&J or just by themselves!

2. Bananas:  They gotta be very ripe, with nice little brown spots all over.  A football coach gave me a new perspective of these potassium-rich fruits.  He said they would help keep muscle cramps away so I always had a couple on game days (and never had cramps).  Thanks, Coach Cain!  By the way, the BBQthDirector’s Wife makes uber-bomb chocolate chip banana bread.

3. Blueberries:  The new “super-food”, these fun-sized treats are supposedly loaded with anti-oxidants, those cellular super-heros of the nutrition world.  Oh, whatever!   I love ’em in my yogurt and cinnamon rolls!

4. Avocados:  Mmmm, Guacamole!  Filipinos have a strange way of eating this creamy delight.  They like to mix it up with milk and sugar and turn it into dessert.  Sounds disgusting doesn’t it?  I haven’t had it that way since I was a kid and it actually does sound bad.  Don’t know if I could ever go back to that.

5. Cantaloupe:  I grew up with these melons always in my home.  I guess my mom really liked them and she passed that on to me.  I miss my mom.

10 comments so far

  1. feastonthecheap on

    Nice pic, seriously good strawberry shot there. And totally agree with your list of fave fruits (minus maybe the cantaloupe…but you can’t argue with sentimental value).

  2. jaynepomuceno on

    Thanks for coming by! And for the indirect spell check! Wish I could take credit for the pic.

  3. S.J. on

    Avocados… yuck! I don’t understand how people like them. I guess it’s an aquired taste (is that the right grammer? I hope I used that word/phrase correctly. oh well). Blech! Sorry. 😦

  4. Robby on

    great pick jay!!! strawberries are my fave!!! i love em! but on the others… not so much!… i like blueberrys alot.. but the other 3.. EW!!! GROSS! lol.. but nice num. 1 pick! good job jay!… p.s. shout out to famous daves!!! 😉

  5. Ariel on

    i love strawberries too! have you tried white chocolate-covered ones? they’re pretty good. i’ve seen my granmda eat avocados w/ milk and sugar but i’ve never tried it. it doesn’t look like a good combination lol!

  6. giantsfreak on

    I was thinking if you do enough of these Fave Five lists, eventually you will have to do a Fave Five of your favorite Fave Five lists that you have made

  7. James A. on

    1. bananas
    2. apples
    3. strawberries
    4. pineapple
    5. mango

  8. Becka on

    Becka (copying James)
    1. Strawberries
    2. Blackberries
    3. Blueberries
    4. Apples
    5. Oranges

    I do like Avacado, but think of it more as a vegetable. I am allergic to bananas and I hate cantaloupe. So, there you have it. I enjoy your fave five lists though. 🙂

  9. janet2000 on

    Avocado with milk and sugar sounds very, very wrong!

  10. jenmarie on

    I think avocados are best as guacamole! 🙂
    I think my five would be watermelon, cherries, blackberries, kiwi, and strawberries! – as I sit here eating an orange…


Leave a Reply

