A Famous Summer

Queen Mary 002

Free Famous Dave’s for a year and a trip to Minnesota to meet the legend himself!  I want this.  Bad.  I have checked out the competition and they are an eclectic mix of super talented BBQ lovers with big plans and even bigger social networks.  But I’ll give it my all, hold nothing back.  I will go after the weekly challenges with the ferocity of a mama bear protecting her cubs.  But the heart of my grassroots campaign will be this:

I have given my life to help young people.  To impact their lives to become upstanding citizens with strong morals.  Sadly, many teens have never had true BBQ.  They have been victimized by the baked or boiled ribs of a society that is in decay.  Someone needs to care!  Famous Dave does!  And so do I.  Follow me this summer as I do my part to show the next generation what authentic All-American BBQ is all about (I’ve added a new category dedicated to this campaign).  That awkward junior higher will understand confidence when he holds a rib in his hand.  That recent high school grad, facing a big world, will find comfort in some of the most comforting foods on earth.  That stereo-typical, flip-flop wearing, fruit smoothie in one hand, smart phone in the other hand SoCal teen will have an epiphany.  The life changing moment that I didn’t have until my mid-twenties when Famous Dave introduced me to real hickory goodness.  I’m glad someone cared enough to snatch me from the clutches of fake BBQ.

I must pass on this heritage.

13 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    After reading your blog about Famous Dave’s, James and I were able to take some of the teens from Bethel there. It was a yearbook staff lunch and it was good. 🙂 Jay, I have some pics if you are interested… Good luck!

  2. Clint on

    Dear Jay or Famous Dave!

    I want you all to know that I have been so inspired by Jay in his insight on BBQ!! I grew up in southern Calif but now I find myself in West Tx the “home” of BBQ But I want all to know that they ALL fall in conpairison to Famous Daves. Dickies is good and Rudy’s is ok and all the other place or alright but nothing is as great as Famous Daves. Every time I go home to see family and friends and Jay the first place my wife and I go to dinner at is Famous Daves and that is because of Jay and his teaching so thank you but also thank you famous Dave for having the best BBQ in the world.

    Clint

    by the way famous Dave can you open one in Lubbock Tx

  3. Darren Purdy on

    Jay,

    What a great opportunity. I must give Famous Daves a try.
    I will pass the word along and hope that you have a great time rep. Famous Daves.

    Darren Purdy

  4. Robby on

    Jay… if it was not for you i would not care about what kind of bbq i put in my mouth… but thx to you… and showing me famous dave’s. I CARE!!! THANK YOU JAY!

  5. mommyof3 on

    I remember years ago, when you took a 6 hour detour on the way back home from Arkansas to go to Famous Dave’s in Tulsa. I thought it was crazy!! It still is crazy, but now I understand why. We had dinner last night at Famous Dave’s, now that’s my idea of a perfect Memorial Day BBQ.

  6. Dan the Man on

    Jay, I think its awesome that you are one of the finalists in the Famous Dave’s biggest fan contest. It was YOU after all that changed my life forever with an invite for the fam to gather at Famous Dave’s. Under your direction I’ve changed from a burgereater at a steakhouse to a man that’s “GOTTA HAVE MY RIBS”. I still enjoy a good burger but now I know there’s nothing like a rack of Famous Dave’s ribs, St. louis style, and a side order of beef brisket, not to mention the best cornbread and slaw ANYPLACE!! Jay, you truly are THE MAN…ERRR…THE FAN!

  7. minnemom on

    Hey, Famous Jay, I’ll tell you one thing, you have some seriously inspirational things to say about BBQ and good writing skills to boot. Even though you’re “the competition,” I’m adding you to my feed reader to keep an eye on you.

    It’s all good . . . at Famous Dave’s, that is!

  8. jaynepomuceno on

    Thanks for the kind sentiments everyone. This is gonna be a lot of fun.

  9. Becka on

    Jay, you introduced me to Famous Dave’s by always wanting me (and a friend or my family) to pick up some Famous Dave’s BBQ sauce whenever we were in a state that had Famous Dave’s (before there was one close to your home). I think I brought you BBQ sauce at least two different times. I had the chance of trying Famous Dave’s for the first time when I was at the Mall of America. I was officially hooked! For my husband’s birthday last year, we (his parents, myself, and him) travelled an hour away to go to Famous Dave’s. I must say you have been an inspiration for my love of God and Famous Dave’s. You are a true Famous Dave’s Fan.

    P.S. I’m trying to spread the word as you asked. 🙂

  10. Evan "The Carnivore" Briggs on

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm… I’m sold! I always admired you Jay, it’s so very good to see you are still a man I can look up to! I (sadly) have never been blessed to pass through the delightful doorway o’ Dave… but I do believe we ought to have a meAting there! I was fortunate enough to come across a bottle of Famous Dave’s Devil’s Spit BBQ Sauce and can honestly say it was the BEST BBQ sauce I’ve ever had… by a country mile! I didn’t even know there was a restaurant until recently. The closest one to me is about 80 miles away. After reading your review, I’m makin’ a road trip!

    Great to see you are still serving the Lord… I’m sure you are still singin’ as well

    Have a spiffy day!

    Evan “The Carnivore” Briggs
    Meataterian Extraordinaire

  11. Jennifer Burchfield (Madsen) on

    I haven’t seen you guys in forever. What a beautiful family!!!! Tell Brenna HI.
    Famous Dave’s is the BEST BBQ around. I have eaten A LOT of BBQ and their ribs have “smoked” the competition:-) In fact, I am eating their tomorrow with a group of my friends.
    Good Luck!

  12. janet2000 on

    To think, I stumbled upon your blog before all this fame! I’ll be following the campaign closely and expect some really unique and fun things. The competition better bring their very best or they don’t stand a chance!

  13. jaynepomuceno on

    Aaaaarrrgh! A typo! Friends, please feel free to e-mail me about retarded typos like “eceltic” (which has been corrected).

    Where’s Matty Dubya when you need him?


Leave a Reply

