The Path to Knowing

 **The BarBeQuethMinistry! interrupts your regularly scheduled Famous Campaign to bring you this important message:**

“If any man will do His will, he shall know of the doctrine …” -John 7:17a

Ralph's 026I have a few pet-peeves.  I cringe at the sight of a misused their, there or they’re.  I’ve been on a life-long crusade to get mankind to pronounce caramel properly (what do people have against that poor second “a”?).  It really bugs me when people munch on their finger nails.  Though I can actually enjoy watching someone biting their toe nails, but that’s a whole ‘nother post.  Probably a different blog altogether.

Then there’s the issue of shallow Christians.  I’m not talking about new converts who are taking those exciting first steps in their walk with God.  It’s the “pew warmers” that have been attending church for many years but are unwilling and unable to defend what they say they believe.  I’m not saying every Christian should be on the same level of a Doctor of Divinity who has studied Greek and Hebrew.  But the Bible does tell us to be “ready to give an answer of the hope” that is in us.

In John 7, Jesus Christ starts teaching during a feast and the religious crowd marvels.  They don’t remember seeing him at the seminary or school of the prophets.  How could someone so “regular” (all they knew was that he was a carpenter’s son) have so much knowledge of the scriptures?  And here Christ takes a challenge and turns it into a lesson to be passed on through the ages to get to “regular” people like you and me.

The key to understanding doctrine is not your I.Q..  There are no educational pre-requisites in order to attain biblical knowledge.  The key to knowing doctrine is obedience.  Look at John 7:17 up top one more time.  It is the heart that desires to do God’s will that is illumined by the glorious light of the scriptures. 

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge.” -Proverbs 1:7a

Why do you believe what you believe?  Can you really know that you have a home in heaven?  Is it truly the blood of Jesus Christ that washes away sins?  What does baptism have to do with anything?  Once saved, are you always saved?  Why did you vote that way?  You don’t have to be a theologian (whatever that means).  But you should be ready to answer.

8 comments so far

  1. jaynepomuceno on

    Whew! I really needed that break from the campaign trail.

  2. Robby on

    AMEN!!! man jay.. were on such a higher lvl then evrybody else!! ya know!!.. lol.. but in all seriouseness.. good devo!!

  3. Robby on

    ok… did you put that picture on the blog because.. they are the meaning of knowing.. cuz if so.. ur WAYYY!!! off. but if its beacuse there weak and shallow christians.. then ur rite on!! 😛

  4. jaynepomuceno on

    Hmmmm… I guess it could go either way! Just kidding, it reminds me of a light bulb going off over their heads. See it? Maybe it’s just me.

  5. S.J. on

    Robb, you’re so mean! You’re just mad it’s not a pic of you. 😛
    Jay, how could you possibly want me to like a jerk like that?! People these days. *starts tearing up*
    Looks like someone doesn’t have the gift of mercy…
    lol Anyways… Thanks for making that Campaign interruption. I was afraid that your blog would become a foodie blog w/ no deep insite in it anymore. And even though BBQ is deep you gotta admit that you know what I’m talking about. Keep up the blogging, I miss these kinda posts. Oh and shout out to the pronounciation of CARAMEL. All the vowels are there for a reason – it’s not carmel. lol

  6. Jen on

    Did Robby say “there” instead of “they’re” just because you said it makes you cringe? lol 🙂

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    S.J., it’s just the price of a grueling campaign. I want to win this, so I’ll be expending oodles of creative energy into it ’till the end (Aug 1-hopefully we’ll be celebrating in Wyoming). I’ll definitley take breaks here and there, but I need your support. Hang in there cuz, “Yes, we can! Yes, we can!”

    Jen, I don’t cringe anymore when it comes to Robby. His grammar and composition skills are on another level, if you know what I mean.

  8. Jane on

    I’m with SJ, it’s great to have another post like this!
    Oh, and yeah, they whole caramel thing is annoying, but doesn’t really get to me. What DOES get to me is when people pronounce the “t” in often. Don’t you all realize it’s a silent “t”? That one really irks me….


Leave a Reply

