Weak

How ’bout another campaign break?  To follow my “Quest to be the Best Famous Fan” campaign, click on the category, “A Famous Summer”.

prayer lock in 085 - Copy

The survivors of our Prayer Lock-In. We started with 35 and only lost four sluggards--errr, precious prayer warriors. And, I must say, we look pretty good for 5:45 am!

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” -II Cor. 12:9-10

I’m really tired.  And it’s a pretty inconvenient time to be tired right now.  Summer Camp really snuck up on me this year.  We moved it a week earlier and I didn’t account for that as I started my big push to put everything together a couple weeks ago.  I try to be completely done with my camp stuff a full week before hand, so I can have a chance to chillax and get spiritually re-focused.  Putting so much time, effort and energy into the program can throw things out of whack.  Don’t get me wrong, I am commited to having a sharp, well-run program, but the program isn’t the end.  It is a means to an end.  The end is to impact young people for eternity.  To see them give their lives fully to Christ.  But all this creating ice breakers, searching for varieties of kickball, and shopping for first aid essentials, can turn one into a programming robot.  My teens don’t need a programming robot.  They need a leader with the power of God on his life.

But I didn’t get that one-week break this time around.  It’s my own fault.  Shoulda paid better attention.  Two weeks ago, I was coming home exhausted from Family Camp.  Then I just really hit the ground running and haven’t really had a break.  At the beginning of this week, we attended a two night Youth Conference in Harbor City.  Getting back home after midnight both nights really didn’t help matters, but the spiritual impact was worth it.  And, of course, our Prayer Lock-In Thursday night/Friday morning made for a less-than-profitable day at the office on Friday (managed to get a bit of work done after about a three hour nap).  So, yeah …

I’m tired.

Camp is Monday.  That means running around, late nights, early mornings, energizing the crowd, mediating this problem, clarifying that problem, running around some more … and I’m already tired.  Let’s face it, right now … I’m weak. 

What a great place to be.

I say that without an ounce of sarcasm.  I say that fully trusting the Word of God.  It is in my weakness that God can truly show how strong He is.  His grace is sufficient, even when I’m lacking sleep.  His grace is sufficient, when I’ve run out of time.  His grace is sufficient, when I feel I’m out of my element.  It is when I come to the end of my own strength, intellect and experience, and acknowledge my complete and desperate need of Him, that the power of God is able to truly shine.  I just need to get out of the way.

And that’s easiest to do when I’m weak.

I’d really appreciate your prayers for this week of camp.

9 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    I hope you all have a great week! 🙂

  2. Larry & Pokey Davis on

    You are in our prayers, Jay. God can do great things with anyone who goes in His power and His might! God bless you all!

  3. Robby on

    that was awesome jay!! thanks for getting a little more weak to do that with us! it was great!! and i cant wait for camp its going to be sweet!!

  4. jenmarie on

    I like this one with Connor’s special touch. 🙂 And I like how Liz kept putting her camera up there too and then pushing the button but it wasn’t taking time delayed pics, it kept taking them as soon as she would push the button. 🙂
    Hope you guys have a great week, we’ll all be praying!
    Make sure Heather and Sarah behave! 🙂

  5. Becka on

    Have fun at camp – I’ll be praying!

  6. Kelli on

    Jay,

    I’m worried about you. Can you make it a whole week w/ no Famoud Dave’s? You are starting the camp in a weakened condition, not sure you will make it through!

    I will spend my week praying for you…………

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    Thank you all for your prayers! We had a GREAT week! A synopsis is forthcoming.

  8. S.J. on

    JAY!!! I LOVE that passage. It’s seriously one of my favorites! It reminds me of the mini-series, “Running on Empty”. 🙂 I am “…put to rememberance…” of the hardships God has led me through. It reminds me how awesome He is, and how insignificant I am compaired to Him.

  9. dar... on

    haha …at first i couldnt tell if that was a before or after pic…


Leave a Reply

