Fave Fives XVIII: Famous Dave’s Menu Items

challenge8 018

Okay, we’re in the home stretch of the campaign (Wanna help me win? Read about the P.I.G. Club!). We tied for first place for Challenge #9 (check out my freecreditreport.com spoof in the previous post and see Josh H.’s royal invitation here). The last challenge is exactly what I expected:

Challenge #10: You’ve had all summer to highlight Famous Dave’s – now we want to hear why YOU are the most Famous Fan.

If I only had the time to put together the closing speech I had envisioned. Right now I’m getting geared up for our youth group’s missions trip to the Arapahoe Nation in Wyoming. We leave Thursday morning, so I’ll get a little something posted Wednesday night and hope for the best. In the mean-time, here are my Fave Five Famous Dave’s menu items (yes, it was tough narrowing it down).

1.  “The Big Slab” of St. Louis Style Ribs: So meaty and smokey, consistently tender and tasty enough to stand alone.  But, hey, a bath in Devil’s Spit never hurts!

2.  Manhandler Sandwhich: A genius pairing of melt-in-your-mouth brisket and sliced hot link on a toasted bun … wow!

3.  Better Than Mom’s Pecan Pie: It really is better than my mom’s, and she consistently had professional quality pecan pie in the house.  Okay, okay so that’s a nice way of saying she always bought it, but Dave’s really is the very best I’ve ever had!

4.  Smoked Salmon Spread: A perfectly seasoned mixture of cream cheese and smoked salmon, served with grilled flat bread.  For the BBQth Director to put this on a Fave Five’s list is really saying something, as I’ve caught my own Alaskan Silver Salmon and eaten it just hours later.  If you like Salmon, you must try this!

5.  Ultimate BBQ Burger: I like burgers, as a previous Fave Fives list will attest.  This really is the ultimate with a thick patty, Georgia Chopped Pork, bacon and all the fixins.  Messy, but awesome!

And yours?

4 comments so far

  1. Daniel Ashton on

    having only been to Famous Dave’s once, I don’t have 5 favorite menu items yet, but I am sure if given the chance I could find 5 favorites

  2. Josh H. on

    Hey Jay! Just wanted to say I loved the vid and congrats on the tie 😉 Looks like it’s coming down to just a few of us now, you, Sean, me and a couple others, I’m sure. I don’t know how things will turn out but at the very least, this has been a lot of fun for me, and I’m sure for you too. Good luck man, and if you’re ever in SW Florida, look me up, we’ll do lunch…but where would we go…;-)

  3. jaynepomuceno on

    McDonalds, maybe? Yeah, right! Thanks for coming by, Josh!

    Daniel, give yourself the chance. Go as soon as possible!

  4. lonestarpreacher on

    i agree their ribs are the best! i would have to add famous fries and corn muffins to the list.


Leave a Reply

