SoCal Compensation

family fun aug 080
Family Fun aug 019 - Copy

Top picture: the BBQ Family at the Heaps Peak trailhead in the San Bernardino mountains.  Second picture: 3/4 of the BBQ Kids enjoying an empty beach in Ventura.  We just recently enjoyed these “Family Fun Days” within a week of each other.

I love Southern California!

Last year, my BBQ Honey and I attended a Pastor’s retreat in Pismo Beach.  One session that was particularly helpful to me was on balancing ministry and family.  I had about a 6-7 week crazy busy stretch during the summer in which I was unable to take a day off.  It happens.  But that’s why I get paid the big bucks (tongue firmly implanted in cheek)!  Sometimes there are unexpected phone calls or special church projects.  Sometimes I have to break plans.  While most people can enjoy their Saturdays with their families, I’m getting geared up for Sunday.  So what’s a preacher in a dynamic church to do?

Compensate!

My BBQ Honey and I will sometimes have a good cry when I’m about to go off on a trip.  I miss my family immensely.  I need them.  They need me.  It helps everyone to know that I’ll be making it up to them.  We go on day trips.  They miss out on a couple days of school here and there.  We’ll take advantage of the incredible area we live in.  We’re off to the beach one week, up to the mountains the next week!  How cool is that?

Let me offer up a couple tips for finding an empty beach, far from the uncivilized “naked natives”.  If you’re able to, go on the weekdays.  Drive an extra half hour or so to get away from the hoards in the O.C. or Los Angeles county.  And look for signs like this:

Family Fun aug 040

We survived the dangerous currents and had an awesome lunch at Andria’s Fish Market (a review is forthcoming; fish markets are a close second to BBQ as far as favorite things to research go).  Then we did some thirft store shopping in downtown Ventura and capped off the day with a nice visit with youth group alum, Antonia, her husband Robert and their two adorable girls.  Our trip to the mountains included a stop in Lake Arrowhead.  Always great fun and great shopping deals to be had there.

When it cools off some, we’ll hit the desert!

9 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    If you find that you do want to come to the OC make sure you let me know and we will get together! 🙂 I am glad you were able to have some time with the family! Always funa nd relaxing

  2. jaynepomuceno on

    Will do, Renae. There’s some research I’ve been wanting to do out that direction!

  3. Antonia on

    VENTURA RULES!!!

    It was nice seeing you guys again!

  4. Becka on

    I love SoCal. Miss it sometimes, but I like where I’m at too. Although, I must say that though there are lots of things to do here as well, the distance is greater in getting to them! We have mountains in PA, we have D.C., we have the beach, we even have amusement parks. However, it takes a couple hours to get to some of them, unlike the 30-60 minutes in CA. 🙂

  5. jenmarie on

    Hey, that’s where I’m headed this weekend! 🙂 (Ventura)

  6. Antonia on

    See…
    VENTURA RULES!

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    Yes, Ventura is definitely awesome! It has three of our favorite “B’s”: beach, bargains (thrift stores), and BBQ (It’s In the Sauce BBQ).

    Becka, mountains in PA? 800 ft hills don’t count as mountains!

  8. Becka on

    Okay, so they are giant hills in PA (slightly larger than 800 ft. though), but hey, they think they are mountains! lol It’s close….well, kinda.

  9. […] in Malibu is fine in the non-summer months.  A decent year-round (but late morning) option is Surfer’s Knoll right by the Ventura Harbor Village (strong surf and dangerous rip currents keep swimmers away).  […]


Leave a Reply

