Fave Fives XIX: Sports Figures

FP3843With football season upon us, I’ve been paying a bit more attention to the sports world.  I’m really into reading about and listening to the biggest stories and “expert” analyses.  With the return of Michael Vick (can I get a “woof, woof”?), Tony Dungy’s name has been appearing everywhere.  I’ve heard a couple interviews and the guy truly seems to be a man of character.  I’m truly intrigued and impressed by him.  Now when I hear names like Jay Cutler or Kobe Bryant, I’m much more annoyed than intrigued.  I don’t like those guys.  But there are a few sports figures I really do like, even respect.  Here are my faves: 

1. Tony Dungy:  Walks all the talk about being a Christian.  As a coach he didn’t allow his players or assistants to curse.  He refused to do big interviews with people who were known for being crude.  He was a phenomenal coach, and is still making an impact on the NFL.  I hope he returns to the field.  Maybe with the Chargers *crosses fingers*

2. Kurt Warner:  Probably the most out-spoken Christian athlete of our day.  I just love his boldness.  Also, he’s just about the toughest quarterback I’ve ever seen.  Only Brett Farve can take a hit like Kurt Warner.  Okay, Chuck Norris could, too, but he doesn’t play football.  Not that he couldn’t.  Aw, man, I think I’m setting myself up for a “Fave Fives: Chuck Norris Jokes” post!

3. Antonio Gates:  A pro’s pro.  No tattos or earrings.  Classy, humble, gracious, and a freak of an athlete.  When it’s all said and done, he’ll probably own most TE receiving records and be a first ballot Hall of Famer.  You know I had to get a Charger on this list.

4. Chad Ocho Cinco:  The opposite of Antonio Gates, the WR formerly known as Chad Johnson is loud, arrogant … and hilarious!  He backs up all the smack talk with serious skills.  I think he’s the most entertaining athlete around.  Love the touchdown celebrations.  Hey, it’s football, folks!  Entertainment.  The NFL needs to lighten up or they’ll truly be the “No Fun League”. 

5. Manu Ginobli: My absolute favorite basketball player.  Another guy with no tattos or earrings, and known for his humble demeanor.  I love how he plays with reckless abandon.  Most of all, it cracks me up how his mad skills don’t match his appearance.  C’mon, dude looks like Balki Bartokomous from the late 80’s sitcom “Perfect Strangers”.  I’m fully expecting him to say, “Well, of course not, don’t be ridiculous!” while doing the ‘Dance of Joy’ (older folk will think this is hilarious).

manuBalki_01

8 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    I love the last one… it makes me laugh. I am glad you have fav sport’s figures!

  2. Larry on

    Jay, you make me laugh (woof woof for Michael Vick)! That is seriously funny. I love Tony Dungy too! Oh, and this old guy remembers Balki. Never thought about it but Ginobli does look like him! Maybe it is him, you never see them in a room together…

    Kurt Warner like a Timex “takes a licking and keeps on ticking”. I really like him as well.

    This ole guy would add Walter Payton to that list. Just like Gates, a man of character and class.

  3. Daniel Ashton on

    Great list!

  4. jaynepomuceno on

    I’m old enough to remember Walter Payton. Don’t quite remember his off-the-field character, but running the ball, he truly was “sweetness”.

  5. Robby on

    5. Antonio Gates- he is just stinkin awesome! and hey its not his fault he is on the chargers! lol
    4. Brian Westbrook- he is just the complete package, he is the second best “QB” on the eagles and he is a running back lol.. plus besides marshall faulk the best combo back ever!
    3. Kurt Warner- I have watched this guy since i was a kid and he was one of the few players who you never heard anything bad about, great christian oh and he is not a half bad QB
    2. Kobe Bryant- he is SOOO sick! UNSTOPABLE! abd yes he is still better then lebron come talk to me when he has at least one ring to match up to Kobe’s 4!
    1. Donovan McNabb- this guy is the best! i love him. one of the best scrambling QB’s ever! and for the last 10 years he has been the only thing keeping the eagtles up at times.. and he will get that ring! (hopefully this year! lol) and he is also a christian!
    there you go jay.. thats mine

  6. jaynepomuceno on

    McNabb is cool, definitely on the down side though. But best scrambler ever? Philadelphia had an even better scrambler back in the day named Randall Cunningham. But other than L.T. and Gates, I’d really like to see him get a ring. He needs a legit WR. Maybe Desean Jackson turns into that this year? If so, it’s Philly and San Diego in the Super Bowl!

  7. Becka on

    Umm… no comment. Wait, that means I just commented.

  8. Uncommon « BarBeQuethMinistry! on

    […] | I wrote some time ago that my favorite sports figure is Tony Dungy (read the Fave Fives post here).  I recently began reading his book Uncommon, and it is one of those rare books that you know is […]


Leave a Reply

