Fave Fives XX: Hymns

sun_on_church_steepleMy church would be considered a “traditional” church.  Accompanying our congregational singing is a piano, organ, and orchestra (complete with a tuba!).  We still sing the old hymns, which, I understand, comes with a bit of a stigma.  Many of my faithful evangelical readers may picture a solemn song service where the song leader robotically moves his right arm up and down and sings like a gregorian monk; the congregants looking down at an old torn up hymnal while attempting to stay awake through the sixth verse of a song written in old english.  As progressive doesn’t guarantee excitement, traditional doesn’t doom a church to lifeless-ness.  There’s a depth to the old hymns that most contemporary “worship” songs can’t begin to approach.  It is in that depth — the strength of a truly meaningful message — where genuine worshipful excitement is found.  Here are the BBQthDirector’s favorite hymns:

1. And Can It Be?: What an overwhelming thought, that the infinite God of all the universe would care to work in my heart to cause me to have even a semblence of an interest in the Saviour’s blood.  My very favorite words of any song are in the last stanza: “Thine eyes diffused a quick’ning ray, I woke, the dungeon flamed with light.  My chains fell off!  My heart was free!  I rose, went forth and followed thee.”  AMEN!

2. Our Great Saviour: One of the most beautiful melodies are constructed for the end of the chorus, “…saving, helping, keeping, loving, He is with me to the end.”

3. All That Thrills My Soul is Jesus: There are many things in life the Christian can rightly enjoy.  But it should only be Jesus that brings a thrill — an abolute elation — to our souls.

4. It is Well: H.G. Spafford’s story behind writing the lyrics is so amazing. 

5. Wonderful Grace of Jesus: Fun and exciting, the counter melodies of the chorus really bring a thrill to those of us who really enjoy singing parts.  Especially fun to lead, watching people trying to hit that high note in the end who have no business even thinking about that.

11 comments so far

  1. Pokey on

    Love them all, plus:
    Count Your Blessings
    Trust and Obey
    Victory in Jesus
    I’d Rather Have Jesus
    (sometimes not considered a hymn)
    And, Larry adds, you are NOT robotic in ANY way!
    :-} love, l&p

  2. James on

    Victory in Jesus
    To God be the Glory
    This is my Father’s World

  3. Renae on

    I love hymns! My favorites are:
    1. Lily of the Valley
    2. Joy Unspeakable
    3. Amazing Grace
    4. Mansion Over the Hilltop
    5. Wonderful Grace of Jesus

    I really enjoy singing! 🙂

  4. Becka on

    My faves are:
    1. My Jesus, I Love Thee
    2. Dwelling in Bulah Land
    3. I Am Resolved
    4. Are You Washed in the Blood?
    5. Where Could I Go

    I love listening and watchin you sing “And Can it Be.” I think of you every time we sing it and can hear you shouting “AMEN!” lol Wonderful Grace of Jesus is a good one too. It really is difficult to narrow it down to just five. Love those hymns!

  5. jenmarie on

    Hey, we haven’t done faves in a while…have we? That’s always fun, and sometimes interesting…
    I like “Come Thou Fount” and “I am Resolved” and “And Can It Be?” and a bunch of others but I can’t remember all the titles right now. 🙂

  6. jenmarie on

    *faves in the service

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    Pokey, I may not be robotic, but I can do one killer robot! Not that I would do it while leading the singing.

    Becka, yeah I get borderline charismatic with that song.

    Jen, we haven’t done congregational faves since I became the music dude. As you said, they’re sometimes interesting, and I don’t really want to deal with that!

  8. Dan the man on

    Jay, you are exactly right about the old hymns; they are powerful.

    “And Can it Be” and “It Is Well” are two of my fave’s but also “Farther Along”, “Come Thou Fount” and “Just a Closer Walk with Thee”

  9. lonestarpreacher on

    cant beat the old hymns

  10. Robert on

    Well! Youth ministry, BBQ’s, and old hymns! Quite a combination! I can at least identify with you on one of the three. My days of keeping up with young people are likely behind me, and I don’t own a barbecue, but I have a great appreciation for the traditional hymns and gospel songs of the church. It is sad when a church casts aside the hymnal in order to be “contemporary.” The congregation is robbed of its heritage.

    Your list of hymns (plus the ones added by those who have posted comments) kind of illustrates my point. It spans over two centuries. And we could go further back than that with “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross,” or “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God.” These expressions of worship and testimony tie the church together, and connect us with the saints of other eras.

    Keep up the good work! And if you or your readers are interested in the history of our hymns, you can check out my daily blog, Wordwise Hymns. There I post things that happened in hymn history on any given day. God bless.

  11. jaynepomuceno on

    Thanks for coming by, Robert!


Leave a Reply

