Spreading the Wealth

NN_27obama2Following the lead of my President….

I am one of the privileged ones.  I have a responsibility to those who have less than I do.  I won free Famous Dave’s for a year.  It wasn’t a random drawing.  I earned it.  My guess is that none of my faithful BarBeQuethMinistry! readers have free Famous Dave’s for a year.  You must be hurting.  But I remember what it’s like to be disadvantaged.  Having to budget carefully in order to make a quarterly trip to Dave’s.  Or stealing money from your children’s piggy banks for the greater good of feasting on the All-American Feast (“Feast! Feast!”).  Stealing from Peter and stealing from Paul.  Yeah, I get that.

Okay, maybe you could’ve taken up blogging.  Maybe you could’ve put some creative effort into writing about BBQ in order to get discovered by a major film and advertising company.  Then you could’ve invested your own precious time and resources into campaigning.  But you didn’t.  It’s not my fault you would rather watch Wipeout on TV or pull weeds in your garden or work on your jumpshot or take your wife out on a date.  Nonetheless, you are disadvantaged.  Under privileged.  I’m advantaged.  Privileged.

And I have great hair.

**stops looking at mirror and re-focuses**  So, to honor my President, I’m going to “spread the wealth”.  I’m going to give away one of my free meals to some undeserving under-privileged citizen of BarBeQuethMinistry!-ville.  Be the first to comment when a Famous Dave’s P.I.G. Club e-mail is delivered and you’ll get a taste of the advantaged life.  Just tell me you got the P.I.G. Club mailing under the most recent post.  Easy.

Please, please no applause or pats on the back.  I’m no hero.  Robin Hood?  No, I’m more like Robin from-the-‘Hood.  This is nothing extraordinary.  No need for medals or plaques.  This is simply the liberal American thing to do.

11 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    lol… Looking forward to seeing how this competition turns out! 🙂

  2. Becka on

    This is great. Totally have an advantage as I have a 3 hour head start. Of course, I never check my email until 11am or later, so maybe not.

  3. jenmarie on

    U have great hair? lol.

  4. Dan the man on

    does the one we got for Noah’s birthday count?

  5. jaynepomuceno on

    No, sorry, birthdays don’t count. We’re looking for their mass mailings.

  6. jenmarie on

    Are you going to make a Famous Fan movie now?

  7. jaynepomuceno on

    I’m thinking about it. The point is to parody a famous movie scene. Obviously, I’m not up on newer movies (say anything in the last 15 years), and I don’t want to associate with anything bad. Maybe something from The Sound of Music or somewhere in that era (or older)? I’m open to ideas.

  8. Ryan O. on

    Got the email! 🙂

  9. Ryan O. on

    “Just tell me you got the P.I.G. Club mailing under the most recent post.” Whoops! Oh well!

  10. jaynepomuceno on

    Oh, well, nice try, Ryan! Thanks for signing up for the P.I.G. Club!

  11. jenmarie on

    Oh…hmmm…yeah, me either. Well, if I think of anything I’ll let you know.
    Ha ha, yeah,I can see you spinning in the Alps and singing “The hills are alive….” lol


Leave a Reply

