Youth Ministry Trick #7

Arapahoe 135This is ironic.  This youth ministry trick falls on lucky #7 as I hit the unlucky #13.  I’m now a teen-ager in teen ministry.  I came on staff at the Lighthouse Baptist Church of La Verne 13 rollercoaster years ago this month.  Recently, a guest speaker from the Philippines was preaching in our church.  He mentioned that he had been in youth ministry an astounding 32 years!  I immediately leaned over to my wife and whispered,

“I can beat that.”

With all the ups and downs of the last thirteen years, it truly has been a thrill ride of sorts.  Slow, exciting climbs that get your heart pounding with anticipation; moments of sheer terror; sometimes turned upside down; clinging to the restraints at break-neck speeds; sometimes wishing it would end, but, for the most part, wanting it to keep going.  I’ve learned that it is in the dips that you look up the most.  It’s just too easy at the top to look down and around and just enjoy the view.  Maybe God puts us in the valley to help us re-focus … upward.  If we’ll consider that, the valleys won’t seem so bad.

But in these last 13 years, I’ve spent much more time on the mountain tops than in the valleys.  Okay, so most of my time has been spent trudging away on the plains, looking and longing for the mountain tops, but knowing they weren’t all that far away.  But I’ve definitely had my share of mountain tops.  I’ve had the privilege of bringing in the country’s best youth speakers for camps, retreats and rallies.  I’ve led some teens to the saving knowledge of Christ.  I’ve prayed and wept with young people as they gave their lives to God.  I’ve run activities that were definite hits.  I’ve written a whole bunch of Bible College recommendations.  I’ve had some of the sweetest, most encouraging notes written to me.  Want to see some successes?  Want to experience the mountain top?  Here’s the trick:

Stick around.

8 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    Thank you for your faithfulness through out the years. I appreciate all that you and Brenna have done for the youth ministry. I am also thankful for the wonderful example you gave to your youth group. I hope you get to stick around for a long time since we know what it feels like to not have you there! 🙂

  2. Becka on

    Sticking around is key. Our youth group is doing well, but having someone to be a youth director, not just a SS teacher makes a big difference!

    You’re awesome, Jay – keep up the good work.

  3. Larry on

    Hi Jay,

    I read your blogs all time and never do much commenting online. I do often say to Pokey, “You know, that Jay is amazing. I laugh and occasionally something gets in my eye (probably dust from around the computer). You are a blessing to us (you and your lovely family) and we are only observers from outside the youth department. Thank you for being an example to our children and to us ole fogies as well.

    Larry

  4. jaynepomuceno on

    Thank you all so much for the kind words! I hope the point was obvious that any small bits of success I’ve been able to enjoy were simply fruits of longevity.

  5. Robby on

    man! who are those super buff guys in the picture ecspecially the guy on the right. and amazingly handsome! nice picture jay! you must have got that pic from a modeling magazine and printshopped it in that pic. lol.. nice job jay! lol.. and thx for everything you do. despite what we do TO you lol. your the best! 😀

  6. Ariel on

    ^
    ^
    ^
    ^
    wow! talk about being humble lol!

  7. lonestarpreacher on

    very encouraging post! keep at it, brother!

  8. jenmarie on

    Yeah, I think you should stick around for a while longer! 🙂 Our youth group is the best. I’m so glad I had such a great youth group growing up, it definitely makes a difference!


Leave a Reply

