Is the Name of the Lord ALWAYS Blessed?

“Then Job arose, and rent his mantle, and shaved his head, and fell down upon the ground, and worshipped, And said, Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.” -Job 1:20-21

ppfeb09-JLarsenJob had an incredible testimony.  People knew him to be a man of character and integrity.  God looked into his heart and agreed.  He was so confident in Job’s love for Him that He actually went bragging to the “old accuser” about His servant.  Satan wasn’t convinced, though.  He thought Job’s comfortable life was the substance of his right living and challenged God to take His hand of blessing and protection from him.  God agreed and soon Job lost his possessions, his children and his health.

I couldn’t imagine the depth of those losses.  Just about my only hope for sanity would be the support of my wife.  I truly feel like we could get through anything together (with the Lord’s strength, of course).  But then Job lost that support as his wife told him, “Dost thou still retain thine integrity? Curse God, and die.”

Recently, I sang in church, “Blessed Be the Name of the Lord” and the song really put that statement in perspective.  Talk about insult to injury!  The final verse says,

Then his wife came before him to voice her opinion.  She said, “You should end it.  Just curse God and die.”  Job rose from the ashes and looked toward the heavens.  He brushed back the tears from his eyes.  And he said, “The Lord giveth, He taketh away, blessed be the name of the Lord.”

I can just imagine Satan smiling as Job’s wife gave those terrible words.  This must be the straw that breaks the camel’s back!  There’s no surviving this onslaught.  Certainly, Job would be cursing God to His face.  But it didn’t happen.  Sure, as you read on in the book of Job, he had many, many questions for God.  But he never charged God foolishly.

Here’s a man who hit rock bottom.  His situation was so hideously dire that his friends were absolutely speechless when they first saw him.  He could take an honest look at his life and KNOW that he didn’t deserve what he was going through.  Goodness, I’ve had some less-than-desirable “trials” in my life, but nothing approaching what Job went through.  I’m not so sure I could’ve made it.

And that really convicts me.  I’ve got some things to work on.

1 comment so far

  1. Becka on

    Wow. Yeah, that was convicting to me too.


Leave a Reply

