An Astronomical Waste of Money

As a nation, we’re broke.  There are complaints left and right about budget cuts over here and additional funding over there.  Many claim that the recession is over, but unemployment rates continue to skyrocket while the real estate market remains very shakey.  We’ve seen stimulus packages do little to coax people into buying plasma screen TVs and bailouts fund posh executive get-togethers at luxury resorts.  So what’s the natural progression?

Ares I-X.

225019main_aresIX_pad_665x861NASA’s 327 foot rocket is slated to replace the aging Space Shuttle fleet, which is, supposedly, retiring in 2010.   The hope is that Ares I-X will be able to ferry astronauts to the International Space Station, and, eventually, to the moon.  It is on schedule to be completed in 2017.  The Space Station is scheduled to be de-orbited in 2015.  Okay, I’m no rocket scientist, but something’s very wrong here.

Speaking of wrong, Ares I-X was supposed to take a test launch today, but some clouds are delaying that until tomorrow.  When, and if, it launches, the whole test will take about two minutes, with over 700 sensors on-board measuring a whole bunch of stuff.  The cost?

$445,000,000.

Our tax dollars at work.  Gotta love it.  Goodness, folks, I’ll take another stimulus package!  And this time I’ll buy that plasma TV for the good of the country.  I promise!

3 comments so far

  1. Becka on

    Loved the pun of your title. I’ll take more stimulus money too! lol After all, they are just wasting it on other stuff, why not waste it on me?

  2. jaynepomuceno on

    Yes, exactly! I volunteer to be the object of wasteful spending!

  3. jenmarie on

    I kinda thought crashing rockets into the moon looking for water was a waste of money…maybe if there’s nothing else going on in our world we can waste time/money on that…but I’m thinking there are bigger issues right now?


Leave a Reply

