Malibu Seafood

IMG_2230

I have a couple culinary missions in life.  First, of course, is to find the best BBQ around.  Secondly, I’d like to find the best fish market restaurant on the West Coast (we’ll see if I ever get around to exploring the other side of the country).  These coastal gems supposedly have access to the freshest fish around, sometimes getting their offerings right off the boats.

I first heard about Malibu Seafood on Food Network’s “$40 a Day” and have read many positive reviews.  I recently had the chance to make it my fourth fish market research project.  Though not situated in a busy fishing port, its location right on the Pacific Coast Highway makes for stunning ambiance on a clear day.  But let’s keep the main thing the main thing….

IMG_2233

We ordered the Ahi Tuna Burger and the Fish and Fries.  The fried fish (I believe it was cod) was very good.  Piping hot, obviously fresh out of the fryer, it was flakey and moist with a tasty and crispy batter.  The tartar sauce wasn’t anything special.  Not terrible, just not any better than what you can purchase at the grocery store in a jar.  Also, you have to pay extra for more.  What’s up with that?  Burger is the key word with the Ahi Tuna Burger.  Don’t get lulled into expecting a sushi grade Ahi steak that’s seared on the outside and rare inside.  It’s ground up, seasoned nicely, but pretty dry and lacking any distinctive tuna flavor.  It seriously could’ve passed for a turkey burger.  Very disappointing.

All-in-all, Malibu Seafood is my least favorite fish market restaurant so far (and the most pricey).  When in the area, I would go back for the fried fish and possibly try one of their grilled offerings.  Great location, but you definitely pay for it.  And considering their prices, extra tartar sauce should be complimentary!

Malibu Seafood on Urbanspoon

For more food talk, check out my food blog: The FUNdamental Foodie.

4 comments so far

  1. Professor Salt on

    Malibu Seafood is actually one of my favorite places to eat! Next time, go with the catch of the day, grilled. What’s your favorite fish market?

  2. zaza on

    I am not a huge fan of fish/chips/fries, but the pic looks delicious. (or perhaps your photography skills are so aaamazing that you completely captured the spirit of the fish and fries and presented it so delectably that no amount of words could even begin to describe the quintessence of the cod) actually, i am probably just hungry =)

  3. jaynepomuceno on

    Professor: #1 Point Loma Seafoods (San Diego), #2 San Pedro Fish Market, #3 Andria’s Seafood (Ventura).

    Zaza, I’m pretty sure it’s all about my photography skills.

  4. Gastronomica on

    Tasty, tasty pic! I remember scorching my tongue on their fresh from the fryer fish. Some of the best fish and chips I’ve had. Agreed, for the price, tartar sauce should be at the counter with the ketchup.


Leave a Reply

