Fave Fives XXVI: Sports Nicknames

As a man who has adopted (and adapted) my childhood nickname as my one true everyday label, I have a special appreciation for nicknames.  Especially in the sports world, where they can find their roots in fanatical adoration or enemy insults.  Here are my faves:

1. Earvin “Magic” Johnson:  My favorite basketball player of all time was truly a magician with the ball.  His nickname was so fitting that the world pretty much forgot about his real first name.

2. Charles “The Round Mound of Rebound” Barkley:  A.K.A. “Sir Charles”, I think “Round Mound” is just the funniest one out there.  Fitting, too.

146284_f2483. William “The Refrigerator” Perry:  Back in the 80’s, 350 pounders weren’t very common in the NFL.  I love the fact that you can take this name a couple ways: he was as big as one; he spent lots of time opening one.

4. Jerome “The Bus” Bettis:  Big, powerful running back who’s uniform was black and yellow.  Awesome.

5. Randy “The Big Unit” Johnson:  At a menacing 6-10, Johnson truly was “The Big Unit” on the mound.  This nickname gets extra points just for being really cool.

15 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    Well I have had my nickname since I was a little kid… NaeNae is not a very prestigious nickname but it works or me. I also go by Nae, George, Hey You… 🙂 I think that Jay is a very fitting nickname for you… I won’t reveal your real name! 🙂

  2. Jen on

    Too bad the Big Unit didn’t end up being so big after we signed him… I seriously think we jinx players…
    I like the Panda, personally. 🙂

  3. jaynepomuceno on

    Renae, you’re too kind.

    Jen, who’s the Panda?

  4. Daniel Ashton on

    Pablo “Kung Fu Panda” Sandoval a.k.a. “The Panda”
    Kurk Reuter known as “Woody” for his similarities to the Toy Story Character

  5. Robby on

    oh ya!! gotta love magic!! lets see jay. who was he on the.. umm.. oh thats right. LAKERS!! oh ya! which he led to 5 nba championships along with kareem and kurt rambis and michael cooper and byron scott! u gotta love the lakers jay!! 😀

  6. jaynepomuceno on

    Yeah, yeah, Robby, I’m all about the “Show Time” Lakers of the 80’s and early 90’s. This new bunch w/ arrogant, jerk Kobe, not so much.

  7. Robby on

    oh come on.. you gotta love kobe!! he is the man. one of the greatest ever and if he can get a couple more rings which he probably will he will make a case for being the best. not yet. so soon!! 😀 its all about the lakers jay.. but yeah that 80’s squad was pretty awesome!!

  8. Kelli on

    Kobe ranks right up there w/ OJ!

    Sorry Robby.

  9. Dan the man on

    All good choices Jay but my favorite sports nickname has to be what Theo Epstein, GM of the Boston Red Sox, called the New York Yankees; “the evil empire”…did I mention that I hate the Yankees?

  10. Robby on

    well jay after following the chargers for so long you need to get ur focus to a team who wins games and rings and does something for the sports world!!! so there is a seat right next to me anytime you wanna get right with God jay and join the lakers squad! 😀

  11. Robby on

    dan.. did i mention i love you??
    i LOVE THE RED SOX!! and i hate the yankees!! i would be happy if they didn’t win another game ever!

  12. jaynepomuceno on

    I’m usually a Yankee hater, too, but Mariano Rivera intrigues me. His dominance through the years has been amazing. I wonder how long he can keep that up. He should have a nickname.

    If the Lakers got rid of Kobe and brought in King James, I’d be back on the band wagon!

  13. Robby on

    oh please jay.. lebron?? of course. with all the rings lebron has compared to kobe’s measley 4 rings he is much better. 😛

  14. Hodan on

    is this all you have on this page?

  15. Hodan on

    never mind i just answered that Q’s for meself


Leave a Reply

