Fave Fives XXIX: Christmas Traditions

1. Christmas Music:  I love singing Christmas Carols in church, and I’ve been known to play Christmas music year-round.  It’s especially nice that most of the trashy music playing in businesses is replaced by nice Christmas music.  It truly is “the most wonderful time of the year!”

2. Egg Nog:  Either you love this stuff or you’re grossed out by it.  Some of my most cherished Bible College memories are centered around egg nog.  See my commentary on this most delectable creamy treat at my food blog, The FUNdamental Foodie.

3. Christmas Lights:  Don’t they just instantly put you in a good mood?  Pictured above are the traditional “farolitos” of Northern New Mexico.

4. Marzipan Stollen:  A sweet German bread filled with dried/candied fruit and marzipan (sweetened almond paste).  It’s a bit like American fruit cake except it’s good.  Does anyone other than My BBQ Honey actually like fruit cake?

5. Cookie Tins (Danish Butter Cookies):  My favorite thing about this is that people at my church give these things away like there’s no tomorrow.  Some of the fanciest ones are covered in chocolate, but even the plain ones are terribly addicting.

6 comments so far

  1. Renae on

    I absolutely love Christmas… The whole season makes me really happy… I especially like all the gift giving secrets and spending time with friends and family!

  2. Becka on

    oooh, i love those danish butter cookies! I also like that fake popcorn in the big tin. Yummmmm! Christmas is full of wonderful things to eat. 🙂

  3. jenmarie on

    My favorites are Mrs. Ingram’s pumpkin roll and cookies 🙂 And Christmas lights…and Christmas music…and Gingerbread cookies…and buying presents…I love it all.

  4. janet2000 on

    TV Christmas specials, hot cocoa with marshmallows, decorating….

  5. jaynepomuceno on

    Jen, does Mrs. Ingram still make pumpkin roll for your family? We haven’t had it in years! Maybe it’s our Raiders-Chargers rivalry.

  6. jenmarie on

    Yep, we still get it. She heard that some people didn’t like it, so she stopped making it for everyone, but she knows we love it so we still get it. 🙂 Yay.


Leave a Reply

