Phelps vs. Groban

To me this isn’t even close. David Phelps is Manny Pacquiao and Josh Groban is … anyone else. That’s no knock on Groban, whose rich, operatic baritone voice is soothing and beautiful. The bottom line is that Phelps is just in another universe. His range, control, and fullness are absolute marvels to behold. No one combines proper operatic techniques with soul-full passion the way Phelps does. You die-hard Groban fans (who’ve more than likely been pulled in by his secular endeavors–for shame, for shame!) need to listen to the following live performances of “O Holy Night” with objectivity. Be careful, though, after listening to Phelps’ rendition, you might fall asleep through Groban’s.

23 comments so far

  1. Larry on

    DAVID PHELPS!!!! josh grobin not so much
    Like Superman vs Wyle E. Coyote

  2. #1 Groban Fan! (a.k.a robby) on

    oh please Jay!!! thats almost as rediculous as comparing Kobe Bryant and Lebron James. except i think that one is a little more rediculous. Its all about the money jay! and the bottom line is Mr. Groban is making a whole lot compared to davids not so much at all.. why,because it comes down to talent… sure david would be making the money if he could be but he just doesn’t quite have the vocals. but he would be nice for american idol maybe lol.. πŸ˜€

  3. jaynepomuceno on

    Larry, perfect comparison!

    Oh, yeah, Robby, what was I thinking? It’s all about the money. That would make Brittany Spears a better singer than both of them. Yeah, that’s it!

  4. Renae on

    lol… Jay and Robby! I have both singers on my Holiday playlist and have to say that although Josh Groban has a wonderful voice he lacks the passion of actually believing in what he is singing. As for Phelps, his the passion I sometimes skip over his if I am not in the mood for such a rousing rendition of “O Holy Night” I think I am split 50/50 on who’s version is better! πŸ™‚ I do love David Phelps’ “No More Night” and I only have Groban’s Christmas cds! πŸ™‚

  5. Nancy B on

    Come on, that video of Josh is from a few years back. He has matured and he has more confidence in himself. Compare his singing today to one of David’s songs and you will see how great Josh sounds. Josh’s Christmas cd Noel is the best Christmas cd ever. He makes the songs sound magical.

  6. Robby on

    Well jay, you do have a point by the way i am a HUGE FAN of brittany spears as well as money!! but i think we both know who should be making the big bucks just for being alive.. ill give you a hint it starts with “tare” and ends with “uh” πŸ˜›

  7. jenmarie on

    Okay, I’m not gonna say who sings that song the best because I know I’ll be made fun of, but it’s not either of those two guys, lol.
    Oh Robby….help us. lol

  8. Robb on

    well i might change my vote from both or at least add someone to the convo. cuz mrs. ravega did pretty good last night. i didn’t think she was gonna go all the way up in the end but she did and it was not bad at all. good job mrs. ravega!
    oh and jenny.. she does help us, its called inspiration!! πŸ˜€

  9. Randy Smith on

    David Phelps all the way.

  10. jaynepomuceno on

    Nancy B, thanks for stopping in. As I said, he has a beautiful voice. But he’s nowhere near as impressive as David Phelps. The only other video I’ve found of Groban singing O Holy Night is in the Vatican, and it’s really not any more impressive. Feel free to send me a link.

    Randy, we need to get a clip of YOU singing ANYTHING up here on the BarBeQuethMinistry!.

  11. Becka on

    I haven’t made a decision yet. I need a few more days and more listeneing time to make an unbiased opinion. πŸ™‚

  12. Clo on

    Jay, i still like Josh Groban MORE THAN David Phelps!!!! There is NO way you can make me change my mind!! im serious!! Josh Groban is AWESOME!!

  13. Randy Smith on

    Anything Jay are you sure you want that??? hahah well I would be more than happy to make a clip just for your site. Will you make a clip of you singing for my site?

  14. James D on

    It’s ok Jenny nobody will make fun of you if you think Justin Timberlake sings it the best.

  15. Renae Archer on

    I like both Josh Groban and David Phelps, but I would have to say that David is better. I don’t really think that it’s easy to compare them, however, because they both have very different styles. Josh Groban is mellow and more opera-like. David Phelps, on the other hand, has a very dramatic style and loves those high notes. He is very showy(not in a bad way)because of the kind of people he performs for and with. Groban comes across as a more quiet person. I think they both have incredible talent, but I still think that Phelps is better.

  16. jaynepomuceno on

    James, you just about made me spit my coffee out all over my computer!

    Well put, Renae.

  17. James D on

    This little discussion is the equivalent of arguing who’s gunna win the Super Bowl the Lions or the Rams??? My uncle Earl has both these guys beat by a long shot http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_xSbiGWzuQ

  18. jenmarie on

    Ha ha James, right. lol
    Hey Jay…speaking of Manny Pacquiao….I don’t want to hear anymore Bonds/steroids comments, lol. πŸ™‚

  19. Becka on

    So, I like Josh Groban’s voice better (just because it is less, well “opera-y”), but definitely Phelps is a better vocalist. He has power and passion. So though it is a little more soothing to listen to Groban’s version, I must admit that Phelps is the winner of this face-off.

  20. shyBunnie on

    So, here’s the thing: I love this song because 1) it’s a great reminder of the reason we celebrate Christmas & 2) it calms my spirit. While Phelps has a beautiful voice, he sings this just a little too frantically, especially at the end. Groban lulls me in with his soothing voice. My favorite version of all was by Celine Dion- and it’s the only song of her’s I like, I usually can’t stand her voice.

  21. jaynepomuceno on

    Wow, James, your uncle has some serious skills. Maybe you should form a family group. The Dunlop Famly Singers featuring Uncle Earl. Or Tommy.

    Jen, we can start talking about Manny and steroids when his head resembles a pumpkin. And when someone else accuses him other than the coming opposition.

    shyBunnie, thanks for stopping in. To each his own, I suppose. Groban’s version lulls me too. But it lulls me to sleep. I love the thrilling power Phelps brings.

  22. Jeremy on

    David Phelps does not have an equal. I have heard him live several times and there is nothing like it.

  23. Sam on

    David Phelps is one of the greatest singers ever. Yet he will never be deemed that way because of what He sings. He sings about the Lord Jesus Christ all the time. people that dont care for Christ dont care to hear it all the time. Where as groban sings o holy night and you raise me up one night and the next night he is on a late night show cursing because they wanted him to sing curse words. WHAT A WINNER. gag me. See here is the difference other than the talent. It is real to David. It is a paycheck to Groban. but strictly based on talent. Phelps is it. Groban has a good sound but his range is second. not only is david phelps a high tenor he can also sing very low. check out you tube range for david phelps. The problem with phelps is that he tries to do different styles rather than sing one style. kinda like jordan playing baseball … WHAT WAS HE THINKING. david has songs that he should let people that cant sing. sing. you know that emo. rock junk. He needs to stick to operatic ” O holy night” No more night” type singing. there is a reason a ” no name” like phelps has a millon hits on O holy night and when it comes to ” satisfaction” its like 1,011. ok wow i just wrote a book


Leave a Reply

