What Happened to the BBQthMinistry?

I’m a writer.  Not by profession, technically (though it can be argued that sermon preparation is a form of writing), but by desire.  I’ve really enjoyed writing since I was in Jr. High.  It has certainly evolved.  The poetry has turned into song writing and the essays and short stories have turned into … blog posts.  But I’ve never been much of a multi-tasker.  The last couple months have demanded my creative energy be expended on script writing for my church and its private school.  I’ve also had some inspiration to write (or finish writing) a couple songs (a catchy chorus can, literally, stay filed away on my computer for years).  So it’s not a lack of interesting subjects to write about that’s to blame for the searing silence of the BarBeQuethMinistry!.  Much has happened in the world of politics that I have a bit of an opinion on.  I’ve eaten at a couple restaurants that need to be reviewed at The FUNdamental Foodie.  I had some pretty funny thoughts about watching my very first hockey game on TV (I was hoping for another “miracle on ice” in the U.S.A. vs. Canada gold medal game).  I also had a very strange interest (almost infatuation) with … curling.  Y’know, that game where people with upper midwest accents slide a stone across the ice at a target (kinda like shuffle board) while two “sweepers” manipulate the ice as the thrower freaks out and starts yelling at them.  Fascinating.  Absolutely my favorite winter olympic sport.  But please don’t tell anyone that.

Oh, and, I’ve tried a couple more items at Porto’s.

I understand that the world is not falling apart because I’m not blogging.  Well, I have noticed that gas prices have sharply risen lately, and the polar ice caps have receded drastically, while marshmallows have been shamelessly wasted by filthy infidel Americans at a Baptist church (story here)….  Anyhizzle, all this to say that blog writing is a hobby I truly enjoy and I’m sure I’ll be getting back to it soon.

Thanks for sticking around!

6 comments so far

  1. Jen on

    I heard about your script writing abilities as my family was raving about them and I am sad that I haven’t seen a single play/skit that you have written. Are any of them taped? I would love to seem them!!!

  2. Becka on

    I hope they are taped. I want to see them too. I was wondering what happened to you! 🙂 Hmmm.. I’m sure all of those things (rising gas prices, polar ice caps, and wasted marshmallows) are a result of you not blogging. You are going to be our downfall!

  3. Renae on

    So Jay I have to agree with you… I had an unusual fascination with Curling also. I even found myself looking up the rules on the internet, lol… I actually have missed your bizarre and crazy blogs. 🙂 Glad to have you back!

  4. Jay on

    I wish we had recorded the couples’ conference skit. The Chaparians did a great job with it and it turned out to be hilarious. I’ll see if I can figure out a way to record at the ACE Convention.

  5. Ole on

    I learned about Famous Dave’s (our new favorite bbq place) from your site, so I’m glad to hear that you’re sticking with it. I’ll check out your other site too.

    Curling? Brutal.

  6. janet2000 on

    Hellooooo? Anyone here? Those ice caps are melting!


Leave a Reply

