Raising a Teenager

BBQ Boy I turned 13 last week.  Now with 13 years of experience working with teens, I’m ready for the onslaught of hormonal insanity that will be taking over our household in the coming years (BBQ Boy II is 11 and the BBQ Princess is nine).  Yeah, right!  You’d think that my ministry would give me a certain amount of confidence as a parent.  I think it makes the pressure all the more intense.  I’ve worked with many young people who showed so much spiritual promise as pre-teens and jr. highers only to turn into nominal Christians as high schoolers and adults.  Raising young children is relatively easy.  They’re quick to think of adults (even their parents) as heroes.  Part of the problem is that they’re easily fooled by adults.  When they get to be teens, they know when dad and mom are putting on a show.  They can spot hypocrisy a mile away.  Either they grow to really despise it or turn into hypocrites themselves.  Or they rise above it and choose to truly live for Christ.  But, sadly, that’s the exception rather than the rule.

Anyhizzle, I had no intentions of this post being so serious.  We had a great time celebrating our son’s b-day with The BBQ Extended Family in San Diego.  It included a total of six food stops (which I’ll be reporting on at The FUNdamental Foodie), a hike down to the beach at Torrey Pines State Park, much needed chillaxin’ at Shelter Island, and a quick stop at Ferry’s Landing in Coronado.

The BBQ Princess, BBQ Boy III and The BBQ Cousins amidst the spring wildflower bloom of Torrey Pines.

The end of the trail! Beautiful and secluded, but the 3/4 mile hike back UP the bluff is a bit of a challenge!

Food stop #5: Tioli's Crazee Burger. Eight adults split an Ostrich Burger and a Buffalo Burger. I'll tell you more about that on my food blog soon.

2 comments so far

  1. jenmarie on

    Ostrich burger? Wow… I had buffalo (I think it was buffalo, something like that) in WI, although my friend didn’t tell me till afterwards lol.
    Happy belated bday to the birthday boy. 🙂

  2. Becka on

    Yeah, umm… ostrich burger just sounds gross. Had the buffalo burger a few times, but….not sure I’m so adventurous that I’d go with ostrich.

    I can’t believe BBQ Boy I is 13! Wow. Makes me feel somewhat old.


Leave a Reply

