The First Youth Light

I was doing a “file purge” today when I happened upon the very first “Youth Light” (our Teen Church bulletin).  I only saved the inside page so I’m not exactly sure when this first edition was “published”.  It was sometime in early 1998.  I was 23 years old, with just one toddler and one on the way (life was so simple back then).  We were leading quite the awesome youth group (which really means something looking back 13 years).  Here’s what was in that Youth Light:

QUOTABLE QUOTES…
“I’m gonna take off my coat ’cause the preaching’s gonna get hot.” -Clinton Minnick (preacher boy night)
“Women are just a rib…” -James Bakan (during a debate)
“Then men are dirt!” -Eunice Chan (quick rebuttal)
“Can we wear shorts?” -Ryan Clark (before pretty much every acitivity; shorts weren’t allowed back then)
“I am soooooo dead!” -Melinda Rollema (upon believing she missed the bus at Knott’s)
“Women aren’t man enough to preach!” -Craig Wilson (debate)
“El Nino’s here!” -James Burrow (following a girl’s robust sneeze)
“Nooooooo Clinton.” -Henry Romero (in response to many of Clinton’s stories)
“Would you wear black Nikes?” -Chris Chadwick (preaching to the church while visiting)
“That’s your boy!” -Jay Nepomuceno (just something I said back then)
“Ga, ga, ga, ga…” -J.J. Nepomuceno (he was a baby back then)

REMEMBER WHEN…
…Jay hid the bus at Knott’s?
…J.J. was filled with holy laughter on a Wednesday night?
…Clinton preached about James having a picture of Eunice in his wallet?
…Brittany dominated the burping contest at camp?
…The Freshmen kept beating the upperclassmen in beach-ball volleyball?
…Nathan, Jonathan, Clinton and Vienessa ate it on the tube run at Winter Retreat?
…Brenna up-ended Jay coming down the tube run?

WHEN I WAS A KID…
~we didn’t have shoes. We had to wrap barbed wire around our feet for traction.
~we didn’t have water. We had to smash our own hydrogen and oxgen atoms together.
~we didn’t have rocks. We had to go down to the creek and wash our clothes by beating them on our heads.

Wow, so long ago!  I’m shocked that I remember all of  these things!  Sigh … good times.  Which reminds me, I’m waaaaaay over-due for some “old skewl” pics.

3 comments so far

  1. Becka on

    So fun! I kept some of those old youth lights. Now, If I can only remember where in the world I put them…. 🙂

  2. Renae Ashton on

    lol…I think I need to pull out a few Youth Lights and update my blog! 🙂 I think Rebekah’s got left at the house and I have them! 🙂

  3. Jen on

    “That’s your boy” hahaha I remember that. We used to say that all the time (copying you I guess). And “herp”? idk how you spell that. Wow.


Leave a Reply

